macProVideo.com
Forums
  • Dixiviu
    Posts: 37
    Joined: Aug 7th, 2010, 03:43
    "Choppy Artifacts": EXS24 with Convert To New Sampler
    Hello Forum! My vocals sounds choppy when I use the EXS 24, as if there is some artifacts being created. Does anyone know how to solve it? Please, follow the scheme/steps below to verify if you get the same problem: 1. Use an Audio track with Vocals, say 10-15 seconds (Dry without any effects) 2. Double click on your audio file, or click the sample editor in your Arrange window 3. Between the View and the minus sign there is a transient button, which you can turn on so it becomes orange 4. Once the transient button is orange, hit the plus sign a few times to increase the number of transients 5. In the Arrange window: Ctrl (or right click if you have a magic mouse) on your audio file with the vocals & select Convert To New Sampler Track. You will get a pop-up window, select Transients 6. Now, you will see your vocals as a midi region ("Recycle style") form C1 to midi note XYZ 7. Play the midi region and I hear that is sounds choppy, i.e. it does not sound like the regular audio file as you compare them 8. You can double check that choppy parts are there, i.e. they become more notable if you reduce ENV 2's ADSR all the way down to zero, that is (A=D=S=R set to short) Best/Chord123
    Reply
  • Rounik Admin
    Posts: 8713
    Joined: Dec 16th, 2006, 08:13
    Re: "Choppy Artifacts": EXS24 with Convert To New Samp
    Hi Chord123, I use Convert to Sampler Track all the time. Generally, with good results. You may need to adjust the transients in the Sample Editor... either manually or using the + / - buttons. Could you also list your version of Logic and OSX? Thanks Rounik
    Reply
  • Dixiviu
    Posts: 37
    Joined: Aug 7th, 2010, 03:43
    Re: "Choppy Artifacts": EXS24 with Convert To New Samp
    Hello Rounik! Thanks for a swift response. OS X = 10.6.8 Logic Pro 9 = 9.1.5 I hear that it sounds choppy, like "jitter". (Verified by setting all ADSR = short on ENV 2. I realize, of course that you should not have all down to zero, but for verifying purpose) I was under the impression that if you "cut" your audio a align the properly, that you would get the exact same result, however I do not seem to get it :) Or, could it be some cross fade issue at the cut points? Best/Chord123
    Reply
  • Rounik Admin
    Posts: 8713
    Joined: Dec 16th, 2006, 08:13
    Re: "Choppy Artifacts": EXS24 with Convert To New Samp
    could be... try this instead: - In the Sampler Editor set the transients as desired. - Select the region and either find, set and use the key command: Slice at Transient Markers... or turn on Flex time set a flex mode, right-click on the region and choose 'Slice at Transient markers'. - preview each section of the vocals. How does it sound? - Now select all these regions and follow our steps to convert to new sampler track, except choose to create zones from "Regions". Does it work out better now? Thanks R
    Reply
  • Dixiviu
    Posts: 37
    Joined: Aug 7th, 2010, 03:43
    Re: "Choppy Artifacts": EXS24 with Convert To New Samp
    Hi Rounick! Thanks for the tip. I have now tried: Slice at Transient Markers as you mention. However, now as I listen to the audio track as sliced and not as a complete region, I do hear clicks, that were not there prior to slicing. I now wonder if it could potentially be some audio setting? Best/Chord123
    Reply
  • Rounik Admin
    Posts: 8713
    Joined: Dec 16th, 2006, 08:13
    Re: "Choppy Artifacts": EXS24 with Convert To New Samp
    Hey Chord123, Have you tried adding a slight fade at the beginning and end of each region? Can you describe what the audio file you're working with is like? Is the vocal line monophonic? Are there evident gaps between the transients? Have you applied flex to this audio region? Thanks Rounik
    Reply
  • Dixiviu
    Posts: 37
    Joined: Aug 7th, 2010, 03:43
    Re: "Choppy Artifacts": EXS24 with Convert To New Samp
    Hi Rounik! Would it be possible to e-mail the vocal region to you? (15 seconds long). It is a monophonic wav file. Best/Chord123
    Reply
  • Rounik Admin
    Posts: 8713
    Joined: Dec 16th, 2006, 08:13
    Re: "Choppy Artifacts": EXS24 with Convert To New Samp
    Hi Chord123, Thanks for sending the original file so I could try it out. Well, I've found the original file doesn't sound great - like it's been time stretched? Anyway, I did a test by converting to new sampler instrument and the resulting sampler instrument produces exactly the same sound as the original audio file: (original first and then converted version 2nd): [url]http://www.sendspace.com/file/9q5v5y[/url] I noticed the original file is 48kHz. Is your project set to 48kHz? Does this happen with other audio files?
    Reply
  • Dixiviu
    Posts: 37
    Joined: Aug 7th, 2010, 03:43
    Re: "Choppy Artifacts": EXS24 with Convert To New Samp
    Hello Rounik! Thank you for your time :) I agree, the original, does sound a bit "poor" perhaps. However, I have not done any time-stretching to the original file myself. I have set Logic to 48KHz and bounced the original, which is 24 bit & 44.1KHz. Some other files sound perfect, though. Finally, what about the issue with the EXS24, when you set all ADSR sliders of the ENV1 & ENV2 all the way down and still hear some "choppy" voices? I had thought this would imply total silence? Best Regards/Chord123
    Reply
  • Peter Schwartz
    Posts: 545
    Joined: Sep 15th, 2007, 06:04
    Re: "Choppy Artifacts": EXS24 with Convert To New Samp
    ENV 1 is only going to have a bearing on the sound if it's being used to modulate something. Is it? ENV2 is used to control the amplifier (output volume) section of EXS, and if all sliders are down you should only hear, at most, a slight blip as the attack ramps up to max and falls to zero (albeit very quickly). The exception here is if you've programmed ENV2 offsets in the actual EXS instrument (in the instrument editor). If any of the offsets are a positive value then setting the actual ENV2 sliders to zero won't produce the expected effect; their parameter values will be added to by those offsets.
    Reply
You must be logged in to post a reply
Recent Threads
Recent Posts
Feedback
Course Advisor
Don't Know Where To Start?
Ask A Course Advisor
Ask Us!
Copy the link below and paste it into an email, forum, or Facebook to share this with your friends.
Make money when you share our links
Become a macProVideo.com Affiliate!
The current affiliate rate is: 50%
Classes Start Next Week!
Live 8-week Online Certification Classes for: