macProVideo.com
Forums
  • Fafyjyo
    Posts: 25
    Joined: Jul 27th, 2006, 12:37
    stutter edit
    Is it possible to record the material effected by Stutter Edit, I mean without the original content ? Just the material you got when you hit a key on your keyboard, silence when you release the key. I know, it's not made for this but anyway ;-) thanks
    Reply
  • Rounik Admin
    Posts: 8713
    Joined: Dec 16th, 2006, 08:13
    Re: stutter edit
    This is an interesting question... I think you're right, this isn't what it's designed for... what I would do is render the output from SE to audio and then cut out the offending bits... Not sure if there's another work around to this. Thanks R
    Reply
  • Fafyjyo
    Posts: 25
    Joined: Jul 27th, 2006, 12:37
    Re: stutter edit
    Yeah, that's what I finally did. Hell of a work ... :-p thanks z
    Reply
  • Rounik Admin
    Posts: 8713
    Joined: Dec 16th, 2006, 08:13
    Re: stutter edit
    Sure! I can imagine :) In Stutter Edit can you adjust the effects so they are much louder than the original part? This would make it easier to visually see these sections on Logic's Arrange area... Also... how are you cutting / selecting the parts you want? I find using the Marquee tool can be a lot quicker than using the scissor tool for example. Here's an article I wrote on 5 Marquee Tool tips: [url]http://www.macprovideo.com/hub/logic-pro/5-amazing-ways-logics-marquee-tool[/url] :)
    Reply
  • Hamish H
    Posts: 307
    Joined: May 4th, 2009, 02:29
    Re: stutter edit
    Hi there I know nothing about stutter edit so forgive my ignorance, but maybe there is a solution in the environment? If stutter edit only starts doing its mangling thing when you press a key, maybe the note on/note off data could also trigger a mute off/mute on on a bus set up to record in real time. i.e. set up an aux send from the stutter edit track. Create a new channel set up to record from the send, and record arm the track. Then unmute/mute the aux channel feeding the record track while its recording. Nothing would record until you pressed a key, then the note on data would unmute the aux and the signal would flow through to the record track. As I said, I know nothing about how stutter edit works, so I probably am totally up the wrong tree. But I figure the stutter edit output must be going somewhere in Logic, so you should be able to record it as it happens. What do you think Rounik?
    Reply
  • Hamish H
    Posts: 307
    Joined: May 4th, 2009, 02:29
    Re: stutter edit
    Hello again OK so I just read the stutter edit manual and I think it should be doable. Stutter edit works by sidechaining the audio. So I imagine you'd want to hear the audio through Stutter Edit all the time, no matter if you are manipulating it or not. So I would keep the output of the stutter edit track to stereo output, but set up an aux send [i]post fader[/i]. set it to unity by option clicking the send. Then make the lil' unmute/mute machine in the environment, and hook it up to the aux track. So when you trigger stutter edit by holding down a key, it unmutes the aux and lets the signal pass through. Create a new audio track, record armed and ready to go. Use the aux channel as the input. A couple of things I reckon will help: 1. set the output of the original audio track to no output. That way you'll only be listening to the stutter edit track. 2. Also set the output of the new recording audio track to no output, so there is no double up in volume because of the split signal. You'll still be able to hear what stutter edit is doing because the stutter edit track is still set to stereo output. I don't have stutter edit to be able to try this out, but I'd be really interested to hear if it works! Cheers H
    Reply
  • Hamish H
    Posts: 307
    Joined: May 4th, 2009, 02:29
    Re: stutter edit
    Or... you could use the note on/note off data to control the amount of post fader send to the aux track. There is a TNT that covers this I think. So when you aren't holding down a key, there is no send to the track recording stutter's output as audio. But when you do hit a key, it opens the send to unity (zero)letting the signal flow through to the record track. OK enough now. All this talking is making me wish I was at Logic right now! H
    Reply
  • Fafyjyo
    Posts: 25
    Joined: Jul 27th, 2006, 12:37
    Re: stutter edit
    Hi HH You are right, that should work. Thanks for thinking that through for me .... I should ask Igor doing the programming ;-) Ok, get to work. chop, chop ... cheers z
    Reply
  • Hamish H
    Posts: 307
    Joined: May 4th, 2009, 02:29
    Re: stutter edit
    Hmm.. getting there... I've got the send set up and working but its hard to get the live midi data (from stutter edit) to open and close the send when its on the same track. I have a few unwieldy solutions - I'll have another go tomorrow at getting something together with some finesse! H
    Reply
  • Fafyjyo
    Posts: 25
    Joined: Jul 27th, 2006, 12:37
    Re: stutter edit
    You really want to go into it ? Do you have the time ? I said "get to work. chop, chop" just to myself :-) If I cannot find a way with the environment, there is maybe a work around with a MaxMSP-Patch in the background. thanks so much for your hints z
    Reply
You must be logged in to post a reply
Recent Threads
Recent Posts
Feedback
Course Advisor
Don't Know Where To Start?
Ask A Course Advisor
Ask Us!
Copy the link below and paste it into an email, forum, or Facebook to share this with your friends.
Make money when you share our links
Become a macProVideo.com Affiliate!
The current affiliate rate is: 50%
Classes Start Next Week!
Live 8-week Online Certification Classes for: