macProVideo.com
Forums
  • Kejedey
    Jordan Rudess - Five finger Pattern, fingering
    Hi Guys, Can anybody tell me, when Jordan is showing a five note up and down pattern, going from major to minor through all 12 keys - is the fingering, say for the right hand - 1,2,3,4,5 and back down - in all the keys, thumbs on the black notes as they fall? Cheers! Gurner
  • Dekuruy
    Re: Jordan Rudess - Five finger Pattern, fingering
    Hey Gurner, Is it safe to assume that you're referring to Jordan's "Keyboard Wizdom" tutorial? I've seen parts of that, and I do remember him talking about various finger exercises, while demonstrating how to do them. What your asking about certainly rings a bell. But I can also tell you from being a classically trained pianist myself, the type of exercise you're describing can be very useful, and yes, your correct in the fingerings and keys for the exercise. By using your thumbs to play the black notes, you are insuring that all your fingers are deeper (further back) into the keybed, meaning that your fingers have to do more work, because there is less leverage from the length of the key itself. The further back you play a key, the harder it is to depress, therefore helping to strengthen your fingers. This positioning also forces you to curve your fingers more (keep your fingernails cut short) and keep a rounder hand, while at the same time training your fingers to stay close together, especially if you try to play these excersises legato. Lastly, but certainly not least, is the fact that playing black notes with your thumb, which you normally would avoid in single note passages, trains your thumb in the same way the other fingers are trained in this type of exercise, which is to stay rounded and relaxed. You should attempt to strike notes more towards the tip of your thumb (just under the fingernail), rather than the side of your thumb. The thumb is probably the most important finger in piano playing, as having a good thumb usually most