macProVideo.com
Forums
  • Zero
    How do I create additional instances of a sample?
    I'm an expert with Acid Pro, but I'm new to Logic and having a hard time getting the basics down. I can't find a fast way to lay down a bunch of copies of a sound. If, for example, I drag a kick drum sample into the edit area, Logic makes a new channel for it and puts one kick down for me to start with. Then I'd like to put a few more kicks in to make a beat. The only way I've found to do it is to click on the original sound, copy, drag the playhead to the new location, and paste. This is really time-consuming. Doing it this way, a three-second drum loop with snares and hihats took more than ten minutes to make. In Acid, I can just click where I want the new sound to go and the program will just put a new instance there. The same loop would have taken about one or two minutes. I played around with the different tool tips and I thought the pencil tool was what I wanted. However, using this just creates an empty audio region with no sound in it (even though the new region is still labelled as "kick whatever"). Why would I want an empty audio region? I know I must be doing something wrong. Can anyone tell me what I'm missing? I'm using Logic Pro 9 on a new MacBook Pro running OSX 10.7.3
  • Rounik Admin
    Re: How do I create additional instances of a sample?