macProVideo.com
Forums
  • Justin B
    MIDI Data into Logic
    Hi. Long time MPV watcher. First time MPV poster. Im having trouble getting MIDI data into Logic. I want to use a KORG SP-250 connected to my iMac (10.7.2) through a Roland UM-ONE. I installed the UM-ONE's drivers and updates and when I test it under the Audio MIDI set up, the MIDI Out (out of the UM-ONE into the Korg) light blinks like it should. The USB Light is also lit. However the MIDI in (in to the UM-ONE) light never lights up, and when I use Logic, the message in the transport bar remains "No In." I checked the "Clicks & Ports" in the environment window and the UM-ONE is recognized and connected. I read the Korg manual and set the the transmission channel to channel 1. I plugged the UM-ONE cable labeled "Connect to MIDI In" to the MIDI In on the Korg, and the "Connect to MIDI Out" cable to the Midi Out on the Korg. The Korg works great when used as a digital piano, but this is my first time trying to use it as a MIDI controller. I am thinking the problem is with the KORG? I dont have any other controllers to test out this theory. What else have I missed? I looked through this forum and others but wasnt able to find anything covering this. Thanks for al your help!
  • GaryHiebner
    Re: MIDI Data into Logic
    Check first that the Roland Um-One MIDI device is being picked up in the Audio MIDI setup. Go to Applications > Utilities > Audio MIDI Setup. Then go to Window > View MIDI WIndow. If you do not see your MIDI device there, click rescan MIDI devices. Then go into Logic, and see if you are getting any MIDI signal. What MIDI connections does the Korg SP-250 have? Does it have a MIDI Out? You say it is being picked up in Logic, but is getting no signal? The problem may be with the UM-ONE. Have you used it before?
  • Justin B