macProVideo.com
Forums
  • jzupancic
    Posts: 9
    Joined: Apr 4th, 2012, 05:50
    Bussing reverb
    Save from cutting down on cpu usage, why would you want to send reverb to an aux channel? If reverb is supposed to make the sound bigger, would you pan the reverb channel to the opposite side as the instrument? How would you make multiple sounds sound big while just using one aux reverb? I am asking because I am trying to learn how to get a big, ambient sound in my tracks, and I think my reverb does not sound as good as it should. I do not send the reverb, i just place a reverb on each strip. A "typical" song for me has about three guitar overdubs, bass guitar, and drums. ALSO: Can I use a different mic/amp on the reverb track? For example, ribbon mic on the guitar track, condenser on the reverb track (for the purpose of brining out different frequencies). Or does it not work that way? Could I eq the reverb track to emphasis different frequencies? Any help greatly appreciated. Sorry about the long question, but I just need a few things clarified. Thanks in advance!
    Reply
  • GaryHiebner
    Posts: 1434
    Joined: May 6th, 2007, 12:54
    Re: Bussing reverb
    Hi Jockohomo, There is no strict hard rules on reverb. The reason for placing a reverb on an aux channel is that it saves on CPU and allows one to apply a coherent reverb across the channels. You can apply different reverb channels to individual channels. It will tax your CPU usage more. Are you meaning using a different amp simulator with a different mic choice? If so, then yes, you can do this as well. In the end of the day it all depends on what sounds good. So if you wish to use reverb on an aux or on the individual channels is up to you.
    Reply
  • jzupancic
    Posts: 9
    Joined: Apr 4th, 2012, 05:50
    Re: Bussing reverb
    Thank you. When you say coherant reverb, do you mean that all the reverb times are similar, or do you mean so that the reverb has a certain spot on the stereo spectrum?
    Reply
  • GaryHiebner
    Posts: 1434
    Joined: May 6th, 2007, 12:54
    Re: Bussing reverb
    Yes, the same reverb times will be applied to the channels being bussed to the reverb aux channel. Also by having the same reverb applied to the channels will gel the sounds together and they will appear to be in the same room space? Thats the key to reverb. Giving your mix a space that it will belong in. Digital recordings without reverb may sound a bit unnatural. By applying reverb sparingly, you create this space for your sounds and give them a natural feel.
    Reply
You must be logged in to post a reply
Recent Threads
Recent Posts
Feedback
Course Advisor
Don't Know Where To Start?
Ask A Course Advisor
Ask Us!
Copy the link below and paste it into an email, forum, or Facebook to share this with your friends.
Make money when you share our links
Become a macProVideo.com Affiliate!
The current affiliate rate is: 50%
Classes Start Next Week!
Live 8-week Online Certification Classes for: