macProVideo.com
Forums
  • ben37
    Posts: 37
    Joined: Aug 14th, 2011, 12:21
    Recording Audio from Logic along with Video?
    Hey guys... What I'd like to be able to do is record myself doing a guitar lesson. It would be a multi-track project because I'd be speaking into a mic, and would be d/i'ing and/or mic'ing the guitar. So, I want to use the audio modified by my mic preamp and by logic and its plugins, and video from my built in computer camera. Basically, I need a video program that can take Logic as its audio input! Quicktime has an option to use my interface as an input, but that just gives me the dry sound from the preamp and interface, [i]not[/i] the sound modified by Logic. Is there a video recording program that can take its audio input from a DAW?? And sync itself seamlessly with video simultaneously? Thanks!
    Reply
  • GaryHiebner
    Posts: 1434
    Joined: May 6th, 2007, 12:54
    Re: Recording Audio from Logic along with Video?
    You can use Screenflow to capture your video and audio. [url]http://www.telestream.net/screen-flow/[/url] In Screenflow you can setup what audio you want to record and you can add you built-in camera as a video input. Screenflow will capture anything that is on your screen. So you can have Logic open and it will capture the visuals that you do in Logic. You can also enable the video at the same time and use your built-in camera on your Mac. Then you can also capture the sounds from Logic and also if you have a mic setup capture the voice audio you want to add to the tutorial as well.
    Reply
  • ben37
    Posts: 37
    Joined: Aug 14th, 2011, 12:21
    Re: Re: Re: Recording Audio from Logic along with Video?
    Tried it with the screenflow demo... on the way in, chose "record computer audio" and it did record the sound from Logic, but it was all screechy, poppy and distorted like an AM radio searching for a signal. Haha.
    Reply
  • GaryHiebner
    Posts: 1434
    Joined: May 6th, 2007, 12:54
    Re: Recording Audio from Logic along with Video?
    Are you using a audio interface with your Mac, and do you have nice quality mic. Can you not choose the audio interface with the mic instead. Then you will get better quality voice recording.
    Reply
  • ben37
    Posts: 37
    Joined: Aug 14th, 2011, 12:21
    Re: Recording Audio from Logic along with Video?
    yeah, I'm using a great mic, great preamp and interface. if I choose the audio interface, I get only the dry signal, not the signal after passing through logic. And it's in mono.
    Reply
  • GaryHiebner
    Posts: 1434
    Joined: May 6th, 2007, 12:54
    Re: Recording Audio from Logic along with Video?
    Ahh, I see. You could record the dry signal and the video in screenflow. Then after doing the recording, you can pull the dry signal and audio back into logic and then apply the effects processing afterwards. It won't be in realtime but you can as close to the real results.
    Reply
  • ben37
    Posts: 37
    Joined: Aug 14th, 2011, 12:21
    Re: Recording Audio from Logic along with Video?
    Here's how to do this, for anyone who's interested. You need to use Soundflowerbed for audio routing. The setup is as follows: ScreenFlow With Soundflower How to get sound from your DAW including live mic/line signals, colored by DAW SYSTEM PREFS> SOUND Output - SF 16 Input - Your Interface DAW Output - SF 16 Input - Your Interface SCREENFLOW Record Audio From - SF 16 *no other boxes checked
    Reply
  • GaryHiebner
    Posts: 1434
    Joined: May 6th, 2007, 12:54
    Re: Recording Audio from Logic along with Video?
    Thanks for the advice Ben37.
    Reply
  • Jymamoi
    Posts: 1
    Joined: May 21st, 2010, 02:52
    Re: Re: Recording Audio from Logic along with Video?
    Ben , Thanks for sharing that! One thing I want to clarify to record the audio from the mic at the same time as the DAW output then Logic needs to go into record mode to enable the mic input to be recorded. Is that correct? thanks Derek [url]http://www.derekpaterson.com[/url]
    Reply
  • GaryHiebner
    Posts: 1434
    Joined: May 6th, 2007, 12:54
    Re: Recording Audio from Logic along with Video?
    Hi Perspex People, Yes, you will need to record enable the channel strip.
    Reply
You must be logged in to post a reply
Recent Threads
Recent Posts
Feedback
Course Advisor
Don't Know Where To Start?
Ask A Course Advisor
Ask Us!
Copy the link below and paste it into an email, forum, or Facebook to share this with your friends.
Make money when you share our links
Become a macProVideo.com Affiliate!
The current affiliate rate is: 50%
Classes Start Next Week!
Live 8-week Online Certification Classes for: