macProVideo.com
Forums
  • Mobajii
    Posts: 89
    Joined: Mar 5th, 2008, 07:26
    Best way to export live drum tracks from logic to import into Pr
    So recently our drummer tracked his drums in Logic but now we're entering the mix stage and the engineer we're going to works on Protools. Which way is best to give him the wav or aiff files completely dry without some of the plugins we had in the Logic session? There are 13 drum tracks per song and there are 8 songs so I'm not sure individually bouncing each track sounds right. Much appreciated
    Reply
  • GaryHiebner
    Posts: 1434
    Joined: May 6th, 2007, 12:54
    Re: Best way to export live drum tracks from logic to ...
    Hi Alex, Do the drum tracks in Logic have any effects on their channel strips. If so it will be to do the following: Go to File > Export > All Tracks as Audio Files This will bring up a dialog box asking you where to save the audio files.
    Reply
  • Mobajii
    Posts: 89
    Joined: Mar 5th, 2008, 07:26
    Re: Best way to export live drum tracks from logic to ...
    Yes they have some eqs. The only problem I seem to be running into is that when this recording was done it was originally all done in 1 session. I later separated it but the songs remained on their old times of the original session. Now when I try to export it does it from bar 1 even when I use the cycle tool to set start and end. Also how do I avoid exporting all other tracks besides drums? I tried muting but it still exported them. Thanks
    Reply
  • GaryHiebner
    Posts: 1434
    Joined: May 6th, 2007, 12:54
    Re: Best way to export live drum tracks from logic to ...
    Yes, the Export all tracks will export for bar 1 not the cycle region. You could do this. 1. Create a Logic project for each song. 2. Deleted all the other audio regions and leave only the drums audio regions. Then if a song does not start at the bar 1, move it to bar 1. 3. Then try the 'Export all tracks...' option again. This should work for you.
    Reply
  • Mobajii
    Posts: 89
    Joined: Mar 5th, 2008, 07:26
    Re: Best way to export live drum tracks from logic to ...
    Unfortunately I'm still having trouble with this. I brought the beginning and end brackets to fit the song and even had the cycle on. Hit export all tracks aiff. Yet I still get a load of dead space time before the song starts. This is also causing the export to take longer than what it should. Any ideas what is causing this?
    Reply
  • GaryHiebner
    Posts: 1434
    Joined: May 6th, 2007, 12:54
    Re: Best way to export live drum tracks from logic to ...
    Hi Alex, Maybe the best solution will be to export out each track individually. It is a bit more time-consuming. But it will definitely work. I know in the past I have had some up and down experiences with the 'Export All Tracks...' option. But exporting each track individually will have less issues.
    Reply
  • Mobajii
    Posts: 89
    Joined: Mar 5th, 2008, 07:26
    Re: Best way to export live drum tracks from logic to ...
    Ok if there is no other way I will go for that option then. It's a shame logic doesn't have that down because it would save a lot of time. Thanks
    Reply
  • GaryHiebner
    Posts: 1434
    Joined: May 6th, 2007, 12:54
    Re: Best way to export live drum tracks from logic to ...
    You can choose to bounce down offline instead of realtime which will also save some time.
    Reply
You must be logged in to post a reply
Recent Threads
Recent Posts
Feedback
Course Advisor
Don't Know Where To Start?
Ask A Course Advisor
Ask Us!
Copy the link below and paste it into an email, forum, or Facebook to share this with your friends.
Make money when you share our links
Become a macProVideo.com Affiliate!
The current affiliate rate is: 50%
Classes Start Next Week!
Live 8-week Online Certification Classes for: