macProVideo.com
Forums
  • Amara
    Posts: 10
    Joined: Jun 12th, 2012, 02:33
    Fade in
    How can I [b]fade in[/b] only the first 1-2 bars of my audio region? I have a guitar track: each time I select the region (2 bars in this case)---> go to Sample Editor---> Functions---> Fade in; I end up fading in the entire region. I just want my Acoustic intro to start soft and also [b]fade out[/b] soft at the end of the song. Any tricks? Thanks, Tochi.
    Reply
  • GaryHiebner
    Posts: 1434
    Joined: May 6th, 2007, 12:54
    Re: Fade in
    Have you tried fading the audio region in the Arrange Window? Use the Fade Tool (Esc+0). Then you can draw in the fade on the audio region with the fade tool and use the timeline so you know how far the fade is.
    Reply
  • Jadystacia
    Posts: 3
    Joined: Jul 4th, 2012, 06:42
    Re: Fade in
    There's no reason to mess around in the Sample Editor to perform fades. As Gary mentioned, you can use the Fade tool conveniently. However, I prefer using a different method, which is automation. You can access automation either by hitting the "a" key or by using the button on the top toolbar (in between auto zoom and flex). It defaults to volume, but you can make nodes by clicking anywhere in the audio region, then by adjusting the volume at these nodes, control the exact speed of your fade. By selecting the Automation Curve tool underneath the two tool buttons over on the top right of the window, you can then curve the lines of automation as much as you want. It's a fade, but you have complete control over it. The simplest way is using the fade tool, as Gary said. But if you want a fade plus the panning to change at the same time, or you want it to fade in faster or slower or start slow and fade in faster and faster, all of that is controlled by automation. It's an important tool to master in Logic Pro 9.
    Reply
  • GaryHiebner
    Posts: 1434
    Joined: May 6th, 2007, 12:54
    Thanks Jadystacia. Excellent suggestion. With automation you do have more control over the parameters with the automation nodes.
    Reply
  • Amara
    Posts: 10
    Joined: Jun 12th, 2012, 02:33
    Re: Fade in
    Thanks Gary and Jadystacia. Automation is the best option for me here. BUT I noticed it was only possible in two of my projects (Great!) [b]But the automation shows in only 2 (instrument tracks) out of 10 tracks [/b] in my song of interest. The Guitar track I wan to [i]fade[/i] into and other tracks appear locked agains automation. Perhaps I have done something strange on the tracks and have to start recording from scratch. All the same, thanks guys......
    Reply
  • Jadystacia
    Posts: 3
    Joined: Jul 4th, 2012, 06:42
    Re: Fade in
    That's interesting, I've never heard of that problem. Sometimes you're unable to change automation because the track isn't set to accept automation - if you look on the left side of the screen where the track is, down the bottom you'll see a button that has the options "off" "read" "touch" etc. and you'll want to make sure you've got the track selected as "Read" which will appear green. Otherwise, try making a new track, duplicating all the plugins (you can do this by holding cmd+dragging the plugin from the old track to the new one in the mixer window), then automating that track and deleting the old one.
    Reply
  • Amara
    Posts: 10
    Joined: Jun 12th, 2012, 02:33
    Re: Fade in
    I will try that Jadystacia. Thanks a million still.
    Reply
  • Rounik Admin
    Posts: 8713
    Joined: Dec 16th, 2006, 08:13
    Re: Fade in
    Sometimes if the track height is too small the automation lane won't be displayed. Try zooming the height of the arrangement (Ctrl-Option-Arrow keys) to check this isn't the issue.
    Reply
  • Amara
    Posts: 10
    Joined: Jun 12th, 2012, 02:33
    Re: Fade in
    Thanks men!!!!!!!!!!!!! That solves me the hassles of redoing all the recordings! Have a bright sunny Sunday.
    Reply
You must be logged in to post a reply
Recent Threads
Recent Posts
Feedback
Course Advisor
Don't Know Where To Start?
Ask A Course Advisor
Ask Us!
Copy the link below and paste it into an email, forum, or Facebook to share this with your friends.
Make money when you share our links
Become a macProVideo.com Affiliate!
The current affiliate rate is: 50%
Classes Start Next Week!
Live 8-week Online Certification Classes for: