macProVideo.com
Forums
  • Rexinator
    Logic's Sample Editor rules!
    My problem today will probably be an obvious fix to you helpful guys, but I'm stumped. I'm working on a project in which I've incorporated some third party loops (.wav files, not Apple Loops). One of these is deployed near the end of the song (with only two active tracks/regions at that point in the song), and I noted that the loop/region had a blip in it. It's a wind sound, so the blip is quite noticeable. I should have left it alone, but thought I'd try to fix the blip. At a high zoom level, I could see the spike in the waveform that was causing the click (not sure how that was introduced, and, quite strangely, [i][/i]it wasn't audible when I soloed the track!). So I made a copy of the region on another track (in the same project) and opened the SE. I've never used the Silencer function before, but I thought I'd give it a whirl. I picked some settings that I thought might work (you have to guess,,because there is no preview on this processing) and then hit Process. Well, it scuzzed up the entire region prety badly (over-processed). So I deleted the copy, thinking that the original on the other track would be intact. Unfortunately not. I had saved this particular loop in a subfolder I created within the main Logic project folder, just in case I needed to access the loops again. So I dragged that into the Arrange Area, and it was also crapped out. So then I searched and found the original loop (within another drive inside my Mac) and dragged that into the same subfolder, thinking I could simply replace that scuzzy loop in that subfolder. But when I dragged that one into the AA, it was again a scuzzy mess. Finally, I dragged the original file from the other drive directy into the track, and it sounds OK (but still has an annoying blip that I can only hear when the track is [b][/b]not soloed). I find it surprising that the Sample Editor can dig into a file that I placed in a subfolder within the