macProVideo.com
Forums
  • Lupez
    Posts: 4
    Joined: Aug 21st, 2009, 01:09
    quantizing in Logic
    greetings from Italy! I have a fairly basic question regarding quantizing in Logic but I cannot seem to find the answer. Fact is, I am guitar player so most of my keyboard playing is pure mess, although every once in a while I happen to hit a nice sequence of notes but because of sloppy playing the timing is all over the place - still, the note sequence is fine. So my question is: is there a way to massive alter the note values so that for example a 100 notes sequence spread over a casual number of bars in no particular fashion is turned into sixteenths or whatever value instead ? I would gladly avoid moving each and every note by hand. I checked both basic and advanced quantization videos AND the transform videos but I cannot get my head around it... thanks
    Reply
  • Rounik Admin
    Posts: 8713
    Joined: Dec 16th, 2006, 08:13
    Re: quantizing in Logic
    Hi Lupez & welcome to the MPV forums :) The Logic 101 explains the basics of quantizing. In a nutshell here's how to apply quantization to a region or a group of note: 1. Selected region(s): - select the regions in the Arrange area. - At the top of the Inspector (Region parameters area) choose a Quantize value. e.g. 16th. 2. To certain notes within a region: - Double-click on the region to open the Piano Roll. - With the pointer tool selected drag over an area to select the notes you wish to quantize. - At the top of the Piano Roll window you should find the Quantize drop-down menu where you can select the different quantize values to apply to the selected notes. Hope this helps :)
    Reply
  • Lupez
    Posts: 4
    Joined: Aug 21st, 2009, 01:09
    Re: quantizing in Logic
    Hi Rounik thanks for your reply! I am quite familiar with basic quantization but unfortunately unless I am missing some major point my issue is slightly more complicated. Imagine you have a long phrase of notes (say 100) in free style, written without any specific timing and with different values - sort of what assistant Igor would do, or your cat perhaps - the phrase is 20 bars long. Now since you like the melody but rhythmically the phrase makes no sense , you want to regroup those same notes in say a 10 bars phrase with a constant value (triplets, sixteenths, whatever). Sort of : take this long phrase -> change the note values to "X" value > align them one after the other starting from bar 1 till needed. Currently I am able to apply a fixed note length with the Transform window, but I am unable to accomplish the last step, so I end up moving them by hand.... I hope I make sense! :D
    Reply
  • GaryHiebner
    Posts: 1434
    Joined: May 6th, 2007, 12:54
    Re: quantizing in Logic
    Hi Lupez, If you have recorded the MIDI in and its is not too a specific tempo you may have alot of work in for you to get it back into time. I'd say mute your track, and then play back logic with just the metronome enabled. Then with the piano idea in your head start deciding on a tempo that you want your track to be. Once on have decided on this then you can carry on with getting the MIDI performance in time. Listen back your your MIDI without the metronome enabled. And slice the MIDI up where you thing every 4 bars is. Now take the steps that Rounik explained. Double click each MIDI region and perform the Quantize action. Listen back to each region of 4 bars now with the metronome enabled and see if the timing has improved. Then move onto the next MIDI region and do the same So its less of a manual process of by slicing the MIDI region into smaller regions and then editing them with the Quantize function. Trying to quantize a 100 notes+ MIDI performance that was done freeform can turn out to be quite a challenge. Hope this helps.
    Reply
  • Lupez
    Posts: 4
    Joined: Aug 21st, 2009, 01:09
    Re: quantizing in Logic
    thanks for the tip, I agree it's probably the best way to proceed. I reckon the initial approach wasn't the most professional, but once you start juggling with a part it's hard to let go of the creative momentum - stream of consciousness they call it. I must say though I am a bit surprised to discover that in Logic there isn't a specific command to group cumulative notes into specific rhythmic patterns or simply align them massively. not that I know of other DAWs though!
    Reply
  • GaryHiebner
    Posts: 1434
    Joined: May 6th, 2007, 12:54
    Re: quantizing in Logic
    Hi Lupez, There may be some others ways to do it. Maybe some other users will give some advice on what they normally do. But I think if you break the MIDI region down and then quantize each region you'll have much more control over the timing and getting it set correctly. I know what you mean about the creative process flowing and being in the moment. I've done this a couple of times. And then when I try get it on a specific timing, it can be quite a bit of a hack.
    Reply
  • Lupez
    Posts: 4
    Joined: Aug 21st, 2009, 01:09
    Re: quantizing in Logic
    I wonder if the "subposition" function in the Transform window could serve my cause? there's no output for such parameter though.
    Reply
You must be logged in to post a reply
Recent Threads
Recent Posts
Feedback
Course Advisor
Don't Know Where To Start?
Ask A Course Advisor
Ask Us!
Copy the link below and paste it into an email, forum, or Facebook to share this with your friends.
Make money when you share our links
Become a macProVideo.com Affiliate!
The current affiliate rate is: 50%
Classes Start Next Week!
Live 8-week Online Certification Classes for: