macProVideo.com
Forums
  • amerikiwi
    using 'audio to score' to midi map a live kick
    ok, im a pro tools guy who is very impressed with my new logic 8, but like may am trying to 'get' logic. so far its not to bad. a lot like cubase (my first DAW). Im used to using the 'sound replacer' school of edits to sample replace live kick with a sample. often I end up just tabbing to transient and pasting in Pro tools. I am aware of the apTrigga plug in and like it So I love the idea of using logic 8s 'audio to score' function to 'map' a live audio hit (drums) to a midi note for the ability to audition notes via a drum sampler like ultrabeat. but im having a problem. I'v been able to use the function, but when the score comes up after mapping the hits the kick seems to be a lot of different notes values. ok, so wouldn't' the 'transform' area have something to collect all the notes and re value the MIDI notes to say C1? I see it can transpose all the notes one way, but i want all the notes to be re valued. and after skimming the book i can't get how. am I just a guilty skimmer and I've missed this? Please Help me Obi won kenobi thanks Amerikiwi
  • Christian L
    Re: using 'audio to score' to midi map a live kick
    Well, I don't know anyone named Obi-Wan, but maybe you're talking about old Ben who lives out beyond the dune sea. He's kind of a strange old hermit... The other day he told me that in Logic 8 piano roll, you can transpose all selected notes to the same pitch by doing the following : 1-Make sure that the Midi In button is activated (Red) in the Piano Roll. 2-Select all notes you want to tranpose. 3-Hold the command key (apple key) down on your mac keyboard and press the note you want on your midi keyboard. All selected note will be transpose to the note you played on your keyboard. He also told me that old Jedi who use the ancient Logic 7 can do the same thing but with the Option key instead of Command. May the Force be with you!
  • amerikiwi