macProVideo.com
Forums
  • Illogical Instrumentor
    Posts: 17
    Joined: Oct 6th, 2007, 09:40
    Pause after recording?
    Hi. Does anyone have the problem that after every recording you get the spinning circus wheel for like 30 seconds all the way to a minute and a half? What is the computer doing? It draws the waveform while recordingso that´s not it. This really slows down my recording process as I do a lot of short takes and edit together later. I am m using 2 Metric Halo 2882 and recording 16 channels at a time at 96kHz. Recording classical music with lots of edits. So it is important for me to be quick from stopping recording to starting again. If anyone has any knowledge how to get around this please help.
    Reply
  • Illogical Instrumentor
    Posts: 17
    Joined: Oct 6th, 2007, 09:40
    Re: Pause after recording?
    Anyone?
    Reply
  • Christian L
    Posts: 1410
    Joined: Aug 7th, 2006, 11:50
    Re: Pause after recording?
    Few things that comes to mind : 1-Are you recording to an internal or external HD ? 2-If possible, reformat your Audio Drive with Disk Utility. (Don't forget to backup everything that is on the drive because it will erase all data on your HD). 3-Try recording on another drive if you can. 4-Also, Try recording at 44.1 khz/24 bits just to see if you get the same problem. Tell me how it goes...
    Reply
  • Illogical Instrumentor
    Posts: 17
    Joined: Oct 6th, 2007, 09:40
    Re: Pause after recording?
    Hi Christian. Thanks so much for these suggestions. I have thoroughly checked these items. 1. Recording externally with 7200RPM disk using firewire 800. 2. My disk is freshly formatted and journaled. 3 I have switched disks, and tried the internal one and have the same problem. 4. 44.1 and 48 kHz are fine, 88.2 has this problem to a lesser extent 96k is very problematic still, and I havent recorded in 16 bits since I was 18 :-) To break it down further: -the Hardware specs on the MIOs say it is possible, -My computer is supposed to be up to the task(2.16 gHz Intel duo, Macbook Pro, 2 gigs RAM), and -Logic Pro is supposed to be able to do this. -I am using the Firewire 400 bus to communicate with the MIOs and the Firewire 800 (completely independent bus) to write to disk. -I am using a 512 sample recording buffer set in audio preferences of Logic, latency is not an issue in this scenario. I experimented with less buffer sise and found it to be distorted and unusable. I really cannot wrap my head around where the weak link is. I have actually been able to get through sessions like this, but it is not good and I can see myself getting less and less popular as the session progresses and a group of 40 musicians has to wait repeatedly for me. It also hurts a little that my workflow was smoother when I was using a DIGI 002 and PT-LE that cost about one fifth of my present gear. If you can think of any advise I would be most grateful. Oh and by the way, I am really loving the logic tutorials. This is the way to learn stuff like this. I dont have time to sit in a classroom and I have sucked my peers dry of knowledge so having these tutorials where I can page through at my own chosen speed is a goldmine, keep up the good work!!!!
    Reply
You must be logged in to post a reply
Recent Threads
Recent Posts
Feedback
Course Advisor
Don't Know Where To Start?
Ask A Course Advisor
Ask Us!
Copy the link below and paste it into an email, forum, or Facebook to share this with your friends.
Make money when you share our links
Become a macProVideo.com Affiliate!
The current affiliate rate is: 50%
Classes Start Next Week!
Live 8-week Online Certification Classes for: