macProVideo.com
Forums
  • Hesydoo
    grouping
    I am a long time professional protools user and I am getting in to Logic... I know how to do most everything in protools so I would like to know if Logic can do sub groups like protools. In Logic It seems that each track can only be in one group at a time???? I would like a group for drums and another group for drums bass and guitar at the same time??? thanks
  • Rounik Admin
    Re: grouping
    Hi Logic can do this too. In the Mixer window shift click on the track's you want to be in a group. Above the level meters there are two boxes 'Off' is the automation box and the one above that is the 'group' box. Click on that box and select 'Group 1' A pop up window appears that enables you to specify the group settings and group name for these selected channel strips.
  • Rounik Admin
    Oops, just read your post again... I think I see what you're asking now. I believe a channel can belong to multiple groups (up to 32) To add a channel to an existing group hold down shift and then select the desired group name/number. The group box will then display 1+2+3 etc. You can find more info on page 563 of the manual. You can also use the sends to create sub-groups. e.g. BUS 1 = drums only BUS 2 = drums, bass and guitar Rounik
  • amerikiwi
    ok I got my tracks to group, but now i can't get them to UNgroup. I see a 'group clutch' which i take is to be a toggel on off for the groups but i't dosn't seem to work. I see the 'enable' button for each group, wouldn't removing the check from this DIS abel the grouped tracks like in Good old Pro tools (hate to say that but it's what I thought) Amerikiwis
  • Rounik Admin
    Hi To ungroup select 'No Group'. Not quite like Pro Tools - but Logic & Pro Tools can do most of the same stuff (people tell me) but just get there in different ways ;-) Rounik
  • amerikiwi