macProVideo.com
Forums
  • Tonojaa
    Posts: 40
    Joined: Oct 28th, 2007, 05:45
    Converting Tracks in Logic 8 For Use in ProTools
    Hello... this message is for anyone very familiar with both Logic 8 and ProTools. I�m currently taking Record Production courses at MIW here in Chicago, which focuses on ProTools. I have Logic 7 and recently upgraded to L8. I have completed the MPV Logic 101 and recently purchased Mbox2 Mini so I can get a better handle on ProTools for class. I�m currently studying the Mastering ProTools video but have a question I need answered as soon as possible: In L8, is there a way to re-record a software instrument track on to an audio track (so I can transfer it/them to ProTools)? I asked some instructors at school and they said i need to change the outputs of the software inst. track so it will input to an audio track, then record it onto the audio track, which I haven't found a way to do yet. None of them actively use Logic so I�m stuck. Any advice/help greatly appreciated. You can respond here or email me at soundwrite@yahoo.com (be sure to drop the "r" on soundwriter or I won't get the email). Thanks
    Reply
  • Christian L
    Posts: 1413
    Joined: Aug 7th, 2006, 11:50
    Re: Converting Tracks in Logic 8 For Use in ProTools
    The quickest method would be to use File > Export > All Tracks as Audio Files. You could also use this method : 1-)Send the output of a track to a bus. 2-)Send the input of a record enabled audio track to the same bus. 3-)Hit Record! The last method is only for Logic 8! Take care!
    Reply
  • Christian L
    Posts: 1413
    Joined: Aug 7th, 2006, 11:50
    Re: Converting Tracks in Logic 8 For Use in ProTools
    Oh... one more thing! You could also solo a track and bounce the whole song... and repeat for each track! The first method is still the quickest
    Reply
  • Tonojaa
    Posts: 40
    Joined: Oct 28th, 2007, 05:45
    Re: Converting Tracks in Logic 8 For Use in ProTools
    Thank you, thank you, thank you! I should've brought this question here weeks ago. I look forward to continuing to learn more through the mpv's and this forum. Peace!
    Reply
  • Christian L
    Posts: 1413
    Joined: Aug 7th, 2006, 11:50
    Re: Converting Tracks in Logic 8 For Use in ProTools
    Great! Stay tuned... we're here to help!
    Reply
You must be logged in to post a reply
Recent Threads
Recent Posts
Feedback
Course Advisor
Don't Know Where To Start?
Ask A Course Advisor
Ask Us!
Copy the link below and paste it into an email, forum, or Facebook to share this with your friends.
Make money when you share our links
Become a macProVideo.com Affiliate!
The current affiliate rate is: 50%
Classes Start Next Week!
Live 8-week Online Certification Classes for: