macProVideo.com
Forums
  • Gorynui
    Posts: 203
    Joined: Oct 21st, 2007, 08:27
    External midi instruments
    Hi there. I've been going thru the manuals and a few MPV tutorials, but haven't found anything useful on connecting and recording using my Triton Extreme's sounds. Here's how I'm set up, with Logic 8: (midi):TE > USB > IMac; (audio): TE > 1/4" cables > M-Audio 410 > firewire > IMac. So far, I've only been using the Triton as a midi controller, but there are some sounds I'd like to use along side Logic samples. I spent an hour waiting to talk with an Apple support person yesterday, who managed to clear up the theory behind how this should work, but once he had me set it up, it seemed to disable my ability to hear the software instrument tracks I had already recorded. I'm not overly familiar with the Environment yet, but some of the manual's instructions relating to that didn't give me the results they show in the book...
    Reply
  • Christian L
    Posts: 1410
    Joined: Aug 7th, 2006, 11:50
    Re: External midi instruments
    Hi sammydave, Here's a quick and simple way to play an external MIDI synth in Logic 8 : Click on the "New Tracks" ("+" button in your arrange window) to add a track. Select "External MIDI" track. Logic will automatically create a GM synth object in your environment. You can change the channel to play any of the 16 channels of your synth in the inspector. Here's a quick summary on how to manually set-up an external Midi Device in the environment : 1-Select Window > Environment 2-In the upper left corner, click on the arrow and select the "MIDI Instr." layer. 3-Select : New > Multi Instr. 4-Uncheck all 16 channels. 5-Rename it "Triton" with the text tool. 6-In the "Inspector", select the correct MIDI port (M-audio 410) 7-In the Arrange, click on the "Add tracks" button and create an external MIDI track. Tell me if you need more info!
    Reply
  • Gorynui
    Posts: 203
    Joined: Oct 21st, 2007, 08:27
    Re: External midi instruments
    Thanks for responding so promptly Christian. I just had a chance to try your suggestions today, and encountered similar problems. In the Environment, I was able to create and rename the Triton MIDI icon, but in the Inspector, the 410 isn't showing up under MIDI ports. The options that appear are Off, All and Triton Extreme (twice). Any thoughts? When I create an External MIDI track, I can hear the various sounds from the Triton, but do I also need an audio track? I had a confusing conversation with an Apple tech guy regarding this, and I'm not clear yet on this aspect... I don't know how to attach them, but I took a screen shot of the Arrange window, showing the Inspector, Library options, etc. I also did a diagram of my gear set-up, in case there's an issue there... Thanks again.
    Reply
  • Christian L
    Posts: 1410
    Joined: Aug 7th, 2006, 11:50
    Re: External midi instruments
    If you can hear the Triton Extreme, that's good! However, if you record some MIDI and you bounce your song, you will find out that the mix won't include the Triton. That is because, as you probably know, MIDI is not sound but data. The Apple tech guy probably told you to insert the "External Instrument" plugin on a software instrument track. Personally, I prefer to just record my external synth on an audio track because the "External Synth" plugin can cause some unwanted latency. 1-Record enable an audio track and set the I / O to the correct inputs so it can record the Triton. 2-Solo the MIDI track 3-Hit record... You will have a new audio track with your external synth and you can now bounce your song.
    Reply
  • Kizujoy
    Posts: 100
    Joined: Oct 13th, 2007, 10:21
    Re: External midi instruments
    I don't know if this will help . But I'm also using external sounds ( Fantom, Motif) . When I want to record Fantoms sounds I add an external midi device , once I do that I High Lite that track and open the media window and you'll see the triton under Library . You won't see the Triton in the inspector until you click on the channel you want to use in the Library. So here's the Path >arrange window >+ > external Midi >the arrange window >high lite that track>media> Library > click on the channel you want to use>Inspector>scroll to the channel you picked in the media window . The other thing I found out two day ago is I have to reset Midi driver. Pref> mid> Reset Midi Drivers Also check your set up in core midi . Hope This helps. I didn't have to do anything complicated for Logic 8 to recognize my devices , it does it automatically . Good Luck
    Reply
  • Gorynui
    Posts: 203
    Joined: Oct 21st, 2007, 08:27
    Re: External midi instruments
    Thanks for helping out. I messed around for a while with suggestions from both of you, and finally realized there were a couple of MIDI settings in the Triton's menus that I had never touched before. Tweaking these seems to have made the connection. Finally! Again, thanks. I'm sure I'll run into more as I explore the program...
    Reply
  • Rasydye
    Posts: 59
    Joined: Sep 1st, 2007, 07:13
    Re: External midi instruments
    hi, christian, i followed your instruction of using exernal midi insrument and saw my Triton in the library. i chose one of the 16 channels and tried to play on my triton. i can see the incoming sugnals in logic's channel stip, but can't hear any sound. is there some steps which i missed? it would be great to incoporate triton sound into logic. thanks for any clues! best cx
    Reply
  • Gorynui
    Posts: 203
    Joined: Oct 21st, 2007, 08:27
    Re: External midi instruments
    Hiya. I have slowly been getting used to my Triton/Logic set-up. Have you tried going into the Triton menus? [GLOBAL > MENU - P1:MIDI > MIDI CHANNEL SHOULD CORRESPOND WITH THE ONE YOU CHOSE IN LOGIC (1-16)] You may also need to de-select the Local Control button, and maybe even change the MIDI clock to External MIDI. Then you have to make sure your Triton volume is turned up. Hope this helps.
    Reply
  • Christian L
    Posts: 1410
    Joined: Aug 7th, 2006, 11:50
    Re: External midi instruments
    [quote:22574]hi, christian, i followed your instruction of using exernal midi insrument and saw my Triton in the library. i chose one of the 16 channels and tried to play on my triton. i can see the incoming sugnals in logic's channel stip, but can't hear any sound. is there some steps which i missed? it would be great to incoporate triton sound into logic. thanks for any clues! best cx[/quote] If you connect a headphone to your Triton, do you hear sound ? How is your Triton connected to your gear and what audio interface are you using ?
    Reply
  • Rasydye
    Posts: 59
    Joined: Sep 1st, 2007, 07:13
    Re: External midi instruments
    hi, christian, thanks for willing to help. my situation is like this: my audio interface is digi002 and my triton(le is connected to input 5 and 6 of the 002. when i create an external midi instrument, i can select the triton from the library menu, i can also select any of the 16 channels under triton. i can hear the sound from triton under this situation by using headphones, but i can only change the sound from triton itself, like the instrument is totally disconnected with logic. in logic, i can see the midi info coming in in the channel strip but can't hear anything. i checked my tritone menu and it doesn't provide any help on this. one more big concern, though not related to this theme. if i use my current interface to record audio in logic, will there be a big difference in terms of sound quality,from recording to protools, or from using a native apple interface to record? i will appreciate it so much if you could give me some more guide on this direction. lots of thanks in advance! cx
    Reply
You must be logged in to post a reply
Recent Threads
Recent Posts
Feedback
Course Advisor
Don't Know Where To Start?
Ask A Course Advisor
Ask Us!
Copy the link below and paste it into an email, forum, or Facebook to share this with your friends.
Make money when you share our links
Become a macProVideo.com Affiliate!
The current affiliate rate is: 50%
Classes Start Next Week!
Live 8-week Online Certification Classes for: