macProVideo.com
Forums
  • Wubekua
    Posts: 1
    Joined: Jul 26th, 2006, 06:25
    Twin Arrange Windows
    Steve, Just wanted to say that i thought the Twin Arrange Window Screenset tip was the MOST helpful tip i think i've come across. Big success. Thanks
    Reply
  • Nudoguy
    Posts: 43
    Joined: Oct 1st, 2006, 02:41
    Re: Twin Arrange Windows
    To add to this: Since Logic 8.01, there is an option to hide/show the Transport Bar. Go to the local View menu and just check/uncheck [Transport]. This is particularly useful if you use more than one Arrange window and don't want lots of Transport Bars taking up screen space. The concept of 2 or more of the same type of window can also be applied to the Piano Roll. I often have screensets with 2 Piano Rolls, each one showing a different type of Hyper Draw data. So, if I have control 7 (volume) data as well as Modulation for example, I set one Piano Roll window for each. This allows me to easily edit the Hyper Draw data of each type. Regards - Colin
    Reply
  • steveH
    Posts: 857
    Joined: Oct 17th, 2006, 05:19
    Re: Twin Arrange Windows
    [quote:1165]Steve, Just wanted to say that i thought the Twin Arrange Window Screenset tip was the MOST helpful tip i think i've come across. Big success. Thanks[/quote] Thanks...
    Reply
  • steveH
    Posts: 857
    Joined: Oct 17th, 2006, 05:19
    Re: Twin Arrange Windows
    [quote:3348] The concept of 2 or more of the same type of window can also be applied to the Piano Roll. I often have screensets with 2 Piano Rolls, each one showing a different type of Hyper Draw data. Regards - Colin[/quote] Multiple window showing different views of the same data IS a powerful Logic function... but my main point was how screen sets save different "main" tools and zoom settings for each of the open windows... this saves and, again, speeds up workflow. AND, this is an important function which is sometimes is so obvious to the "new" users who, for the most part, have been indoctrinated into the single window interface!
    Reply
  • Nudoguy
    Posts: 43
    Joined: Oct 1st, 2006, 02:41
    Re: Twin Arrange Windows
    Steve, I quite agree with your comment on single windows. Logic's trump card is screensets and the ability to have endless layouts of one's work at the click of 1 or 2 keys. The tips re tools and zoom settings are good.
    Reply
  • steveH
    Posts: 857
    Joined: Oct 17th, 2006, 05:19
    Re: Twin Arrange Windows
    [quote:3348]Steve, I quite agree with your comment on single windows. Logic's trump card is screensets and the ability to have endless layouts of one's work at the click of 1 or 2 keys. The tips re tools and zoom settings are good.[/quote] Thanks!
    Reply
  • Rounik Admin
    Posts: 8713
    Joined: Dec 16th, 2006, 08:13
    Re: Twin Arrange Windows
    I always find Logic fascinating... It's the little things that can make me very happy! Even when you think you know about screensets and the ways you can use them to improve workflow a real pro (yes, you and Igor) show you how to use two arrange windows in such a cool way.... i'd never thought of having different tools available to 2 Arrange windows! Thanks Steve. Also, the zooming was great. In fact it's one of my fav's - the number of ways to zoom. Some people might not realise just how powerful assigning zoom levels to three keys can be until it becomes second nature and allows creativity to breathe more freely. Cheers ;-) Rounik
    Reply
  • Lasse
    Posts: 2
    Joined: Dec 14th, 2007, 01:32
    Re: Twin Arrange Windows
    hey guysthanks for great tips n' tricks. very helpfull. I got exited about the fact that you can work in twin screensets, ...but I couldnt get to work. in my screen sets menu there is no "twin" option. can anybody tell me how I get that screenset? thanks lasse
    Reply
  • Rounik Admin
    Posts: 8713
    Joined: Dec 16th, 2006, 08:13
    Re: Twin Arrange Windows
    Hi Lasse & welcome to MacProVideo forums! Go to a new screen set, e.g. screen set 9. (press 9 on the top of your keyboard to get there). Now, If you have an arrange window on that screen set, resize it to half the screen size. Go to Window > Arrange to open a new arrange window. Resize it so you can see both arrange windows on screen at the same time. If you like, after you get the zoom levels you can lock and even duplicate this screen set! There is no 'twin' option because Logic allows you to customize your own screen sets the way you like. Thanks Rounik
    Reply
  • steveH
    Posts: 857
    Joined: Oct 17th, 2006, 05:19
    Re: Twin Arrange Windows
    Rounik is right on! You can open as many of the same or different windows as you imagination (an need) calls for and save that combination as a screen set!! Of course... screen real estate becomes an issue! Steve
    Reply
You must be logged in to post a reply
Recent Threads
Recent Posts
Feedback
Course Advisor
Don't Know Where To Start?
Ask A Course Advisor
Ask Us!
Copy the link below and paste it into an email, forum, or Facebook to share this with your friends.
Make money when you share our links
Become a macProVideo.com Affiliate!
The current affiliate rate is: 50%
Classes Start Next Week!
Live 8-week Online Certification Classes for: