macProVideo.com
Forums
  • Futant Mutant
    kick drum
    Hi there, I'm a newbie to logic 8 :) Does anyone know a good way of finding the dominant pitch/frequency of a kick drum sample? I ask this cos i'm writing a psy-trance tune and want to tune the kick and bass so they are of the same note (for more resonance). Should I be using the spectrum analyzer in multimeter or analyzer in the eq to look at it somehow and then tune it? if so how? or is there another way altogether?
  • Christian L
    Re: kick drum
    First try out the Logic's [i]tuner[/i] plugin. It's located in Metering > Tuner. Insert it on your kick insert. A kick is usually not a definite pitch like a piano or a guitar, but you should have a general idea... for example G#. Then load up a clean bass or piano patch on a track. Play your kick and try to hum it. Play the low note that was read on the [i]tuner[/i]plugin (in my example a low G#) with the bass or piano patch. Your humming should match this note... I hope my explanation is clear enough. Tell me how it goes. :-)
  • Futant Mutant
    Many thanks Christian! This works quite well, nice little plugin that tuner! My kick and bass sound quite nice and tight. Like you said " a kick is usually not a definite pitch..." so It seems best to do it by ear. I have to confess that I actually usually make my own kicks out of a sinewave on an old pc laptop (oh the horror) using soundforge. This means I know the fundamental frequency of my kick. I learned how to do this from the following tutorial shown here: http://www.psymatix.com/kickdrum.html Is there a way of doing something like this within logic so I don't have to use my old pc anymore?
  • Christian L