macProVideo.com
Forums
  • Mozodoy
    Posts: 39
    Joined: Nov 15th, 2006, 10:55
    Score question - inputting Lyrics
    Hi, Does any one out their have a clue about what is wrong here? I'm in Logic 8 trying to notate a very simple child's piece and add Lyrics. I inputted the notes via the Step Input Keyboard. Normally, when you drag over "Lyric," from the Part Box and click under the note to start, you then just type the word and press the Tab key for the next word. 95% of the time after pressing Tab it jumps 4 bars over to a Channel 2 (in Staff Styles) note. Later, I got it to work so I could press the Tab key to type the next lyric but they are all out of alignment with the notes. The Lyrics are supposed to snap into alignment with the note by using the Tab key. But since I got it to work somewhat I started adjusting the alignment of each word in the Lyrics, with the Horizontal Position, in the parameter box. Trouble is this is moving the notes around so much that the graphic representation of the rhythm is weird - half notes look too short in space. This is not working too well. Anyone have an idea of any other factor I'm missing? I'm on a deadline with this little project. Thanks. Beder
    Reply
  • steveH
    Posts: 857
    Joined: Oct 17th, 2006, 05:19
    Re: Score question - inputting Lyrics
    Hi, Try isolating the melody into its own monophonic staff style. It seems that if you are using a polyphonic (channel 2) staff it is confusing the lyric input. Or, without actually seeing your score, the problem may be that your space above and below the staff is too narrow and you're actually "synching" the lyric to another unintended staff! This can sometimes be fixed by viewing the score in linear view rather than page view. Or even better: Only select and view the region/s where the melody occurs. I hope this helps. Steve
    Reply
  • Mozodoy
    Posts: 39
    Joined: Nov 15th, 2006, 10:55
    Re: Score question - inputting Lyrics
    Thanks, Steve. That did help. I did create a new single staff style and inputted lyrics. But they still were a bit off to the left, not snapping with the note, with Tab, as I remember doing in the past. But I selected all and moved the horizontal & vertical spacing around until it looked right. Half notes should still be a bit wider. After doing this my channel settings were still there. When I added a repeat sign, at the start of measure 5, it created a double line (single width lines) at the end of measure 4. I can't seem to get it to change to a single bar, even after dragging that symbol to that measure 4 end. I've run into this before. When I delete that repeat sign, at the start of measure 5 I'm stuck with a single bar in that measure now. It's like there is an extra line that Logic is pushing out of the beginning of measure 5 to the end of measure 4 when I add the repeat sign at the start of measure 5. Steve, the repeat signs don't seem to show up as meta events in the Event list, unless something is not enabled properly. Are they visible anywhere to be deleted easily? Is there any way to change that double-line at the end of measure 4 to a single line, before the repeat sign? I couldn't find a way to send the pix. Is there a way on this Forum? Hope you can figure out what I'm talking about without them. Thanks, for your thoughts, Steve. Beder
    Reply
  • Mozodoy
    Posts: 39
    Joined: Nov 15th, 2006, 10:55
    Re: Score question - inputting Lyrics
    OK. I figured it out, which often happens after I send a post. I had to try everything, with gobs of time, until I got what was acceptable. I changed the layout of the measures on the staff from 4 to 3, then substituted the double repeat sign (repeats back to back) in that troublesome spot. Then when I replaced that double repeat sign with the single line it took it and reset things to normal. Ultimately I had to put this small child's piano piece into 2 measures per staff to make the half notes look right and have the music fill the page. I have large, complicated piano music that I'll be wanting to notate in Logic 8. I guess I'll have to really put it to the test. I wonder if you are working on the Score Tutorial...Du, Du, Du, Duh! I think you are the one to do it. It may be challenging though to do an advanced version. But I think you could do it well, like everything I've seen you do so far. I'd still like to know if there is a way to upload pix to this forum, or if there will be in the future. Thanks for your help, Steve. Beder
    Reply
  • steveH
    Posts: 857
    Joined: Oct 17th, 2006, 05:19
    Re: Score question - inputting Lyrics
    hey Beder... Glad you got it working. Yeah I'm still knocking around a score tutorial, or perhaps I'll incorporate it into an advanced logic series I've been formulating. Thanks for you vote of confidence! Steve
    Reply
You must be logged in to post a reply
Recent Threads
Recent Posts
Feedback
Course Advisor
Don't Know Where To Start?
Ask A Course Advisor
Ask Us!
Copy the link below and paste it into an email, forum, or Facebook to share this with your friends.
Make money when you share our links
Become a macProVideo.com Affiliate!
The current affiliate rate is: 50%
Classes Start Next Week!
Live 8-week Online Certification Classes for: