macProVideo.com
Forums
  • Chris"The Glove"
    Posts: 25
    Joined: Jun 19th, 2007, 11:31
    Creating Fades
    Hi folks, i'm using Logic 8 and i can't seem to create fades with my crossfade tool. I drag over the area i want to fade out, it gets highlighted but as soon as i release the mouse the highlight disappears and when i play back nothing has happened. Does anyone else have this problem or am i the unlucky one. Thanks in advance for your feedback. Chris.
    Reply
  • Christian L
    Posts: 1410
    Joined: Aug 7th, 2006, 11:50
    Re: Creating Fades
    Hi Chris and welcome to macProVideo.com! Are you trying to fade an appleloop ? If so it's impossible to do so. See this thread for more details : [url]http://www.macprovideo.com/forum/logic/logic-pro-express&id=1976&sid=0#last[/url] Tell us if you need more info!
    Reply
  • Rounik Admin
    Posts: 8713
    Joined: Dec 16th, 2006, 08:13
    Re: Creating Fades
    Hi Chris, An additional note, if you are trying to fade in/out a non apple loop audio region do drag and select the area from inside the region and then rubber band select to out of the region. Cheers Rounik
    Reply
  • Chris"The Glove"
    Posts: 25
    Joined: Jun 19th, 2007, 11:31
    Re: Creating Fades
    Hi Christian and Rounik. Thank you both for your quick replies to my problem, and welcoming me to the forum. I'm not using Apple Loops in my project, just some audio files of my own. I've been experimenting, here's what i've come across. I am able to create fades in the Region Parameter Box and after i've set the values i can then use the crossfade tool to adjust the fade curve shape by holding control and shift. Another thing i can do is stretch the length of the fade by holding down shift and then clicking on the crossfade line with the crossfade tool then dragging, but i can't for the life of me get the crossfade tool to work how it should. When i do try to use the crossfade tool it highlights the area in a color blue, but there is no indication of a fade being shown and when i let go of the mouse the highlight disappears...Bizarre. Do you think i need to give the pest controllers a call? Yuck, i hate bugs. Many thanks Chris.
    Reply
  • Christian L
    Posts: 1410
    Joined: Aug 7th, 2006, 11:50
    Re: Creating Fades
    Hi again Chris, Are you dragging over the start or end point of the audio region ? You can't do fades in the middle of a region, unless you're crossfading two overlapping regions.
    Reply
  • Chris"The Glove"
    Posts: 25
    Joined: Jun 19th, 2007, 11:31
    Re: Creating Fades
    Hi Christian, i've tried dragging over the start and the end points. Still no joy. I have my own recorded audio samples on five separate audio tracks, and i've tried to create fades at the start and the end points of each of my audio samples (as a test) on all five audio tracks...But still no luck.
    Reply
  • Chris"The Glove"
    Posts: 25
    Joined: Jun 19th, 2007, 11:31
    Re: Creating Fades
    Hi again Christian, thanks once again for your help. I won't drag this out any further, i think it's bug related...It's a shame, but like they say...The world's an imperfect place.
    Reply
  • Rounik Admin
    Posts: 8713
    Joined: Dec 16th, 2006, 08:13
    Re: Creating Fades
    Hi Chris Have you upgraded to Logic 8.0.1? What OS are you running? Cheers Rounik
    Reply
  • Chris"The Glove"
    Posts: 25
    Joined: Jun 19th, 2007, 11:31
    Re: Creating Fades
    Hi Rounik, i'm running OSX 10.4.11 , yes i have upgraded to logic 8.0.1. And i'm using a 2 GHz Power PC G5. Thanks Chris.
    Reply
  • Cajypiu
    Posts: 400
    Joined: Oct 11th, 2006, 09:48
    Re: Creating Fades
    Hi Guys, I have similar problems in Logic 7 too. Non Apple loop related and not consistent either. Some times the fade tool just simply doesn't work yet the fade function does as Chris mentioned, you can add them via the parameter box.
    Reply
You must be logged in to post a reply
Recent Threads
Recent Posts
Feedback
Course Advisor
Don't Know Where To Start?
Ask A Course Advisor
Ask Us!
Copy the link below and paste it into an email, forum, or Facebook to share this with your friends.
Make money when you share our links
Become a macProVideo.com Affiliate!
The current affiliate rate is: 50%
Classes Start Next Week!
Live 8-week Online Certification Classes for: