macProVideo.com
Forums
  • dwalu
    Posts: 29
    Joined: Sep 15th, 2007, 04:50
    EXS24 sample loading
    I recently reloaded my computer, so I copied my created sampler instruments onto an external harddrive. I have now reloaded tose instruments back onto my local drive. When I try to load up those instruments on the ESX24, it can not find the load path, yet somehow all those instruments shows up in the menu. If I turn my external hardrive on, then it will load up those instruments. I already clicked the option button and selected preferences on the EXS24. The search samples on option was correct. So the best option would be to open up the project manager window and scan paths, which is what was discuss in the ESX24 video tutorial, but when I click on windows option, the project manager window does not exist, along with couple of other windows which I noticed are no longer present I guess for Logic 8. I used option-K to look for shortcuts to that window, but could not find one. This is telling me that I can't change my sample loading path ever, which is not good. How do i fix this situation? What happens if I don't have that external harddrive anymore? Then what?
    Reply
  • Rounik Admin
    Posts: 8713
    Joined: Dec 16th, 2006, 08:13
    Re: EXS24 sample loading
    Hi dWalu, Have you tried repairing permissions on your mac's HD using Disk Utility and restarting your mac? Try disconnecting your external Drive and loading an exs24 sample. What options does it give you if Logic can't locate it? Have you copied/moved the exs24 sampler instruments and samples to their correct location on your main HD? Cheers Rounik
    Reply
  • Christian L
    Posts: 1410
    Joined: Aug 7th, 2006, 11:50
    Re: EXS24 sample loading
    Hi, The Project Manager is not available anymore in Logic 8. The EXS24 now uses Spotlight to find your samples. Make sure that you can find your samples files using Spotlight in the Finder... if not you may need to re-index your drives. Tell me if you need more info on this. Also, I suggest you change EXS24 > Options > Preferences > "Search samples on:" to "All Volumes". Tell us if it helps. If not, Rounik and me will try to help you more! Christian
    Reply
  • dwalu
    Posts: 29
    Joined: Sep 15th, 2007, 04:50
    Re: EXS24 sample loading
    I haven't written in a while because I had my external hard drives connected, so the EXS24 was pulling the sounds from there. But I disconnnected my external hard drives and now I can't find them. Now I can't use my constructed EXS24 instruments, eventhough they are in the right location, "Library/Application Support/Logic/Sampler Instruments." When I try to load them, it gives a message stating that it can't find my sounds so it gives an option to either continue or search again. I tried that prefference thing in the ESX24 by changing it to all volumes, but that didn't work, and of course I can find them using spot light, which I think is the space you use to type in the search in the finder window. Why is this happening?
    Reply
  • Christian L
    Posts: 1410
    Joined: Aug 7th, 2006, 11:50
    Re: EXS24 sample loading
    Hi, Maybe you copied only the .exs files and not the samples ? The samples are probably .aiff or .wav files. Make sure that these audio files are on your hard drive.
    Reply
  • dwalu
    Posts: 29
    Joined: Sep 15th, 2007, 04:50
    Re: EXS24 sample loading
    I don't understand. When I cleaned out my computer, I decided to drag the folder where my constructed EXS24 were at to my external hardrive so they wouldn't get erased. Then after cleaning out my computer, I put that folder back where it should be. When I start up logic, all those sounds exist within the EXS24 menu, but the retreaval path leads to my external hard drive. Like right now, I don't have my external hard drive connect, when I go to the sound menu, I see all of my sounds listed that are located in the folder. if what you are saying is true about the file versus wave file theory, then I wouldn't be able to use the sounds in the first place when I'm connected to my external hard drive.
    Reply
  • dwalu
    Posts: 29
    Joined: Sep 15th, 2007, 04:50
    Re: EXS24 sample loading
    I figured it out. I understand what you were talking about now.
    Reply
You must be logged in to post a reply
Recent Threads
Recent Posts
Feedback
Course Advisor
Don't Know Where To Start?
Ask A Course Advisor
Ask Us!
Copy the link below and paste it into an email, forum, or Facebook to share this with your friends.
Make money when you share our links
Become a macProVideo.com Affiliate!
The current affiliate rate is: 50%
Classes Start Next Week!
Live 8-week Online Certification Classes for: