macProVideo.com
Forums
  • kaz153
    Posts: 9
    Joined: Sep 26th, 2006, 05:12
    Chaining Firewire Interfaces?
    I currently use an Onyx 400F firewire interface and just ordered an Apogee Duet for location recording. Is it possible to chain them together increase the # of inputs? Thanks!
    Reply
  • Christian L
    Posts: 1410
    Joined: Aug 7th, 2006, 11:50
    Re: Chaining Firewire Interfaces?
    Hi kaz153, To use 2 audio interfaces with Logic, you will need to setup what is called an "aggregate device". Here's the steps required to setup a new aggregate device : 1-Go to the "Utilities" folder and open Audio Midi Setup 2-Select the "Audio Devices" tab 3-Go to Audio Menu and choose "Open aggregate Device Editor" 4-Click on the "+" 5-Check the boxes of all the audio devices you want and give a new name to your device by double clicking on "Aggregate Device". 6-Click Done. 7-Select the "Aggregate Device" as your new "Default Input". Leave the Output to your main audio interface and quit "Audio Midi Setup". 8-Open Logic and go to Preferences / Audio and choose the new "aggregate device". Tell us if you have any more questions! Christian
    Reply
  • kaz153
    Posts: 9
    Joined: Sep 26th, 2006, 05:12
    Re: Chaining Firewire Interfaces?
    Thanks a lot! I'm looking forward to trying it out.
    Reply
You must be logged in to post a reply
Recent Threads
Recent Posts
Feedback
Course Advisor
Don't Know Where To Start?
Ask A Course Advisor
Ask Us!
Copy the link below and paste it into an email, forum, or Facebook to share this with your friends.
Make money when you share our links
Become a macProVideo.com Affiliate!
The current affiliate rate is: 50%
Classes Start Next Week!
Live 8-week Online Certification Classes for: