macProVideo.com
Forums
  • Xygupia
    Mainstage as Bidule?
    Hi, After watching the Mainstage tutorial, I'm starting to get the idea that is is not really the kind of an app that on would use top set up a large amount of Logic/Mainstage instruments to be triggered from an external computer, like one would with a program like Bidule (made by Plouge). Has anyone had an experience using MS like this: I have a master computer running a DAW on system 1. On slave system 2, I have 5 instances of EXS, 2 ES2, a couple of EVB3, and 3 of sculpture. I have each being fed midi data by midi over lan, and each instrument is being routed to it's own stereo out put in a MOTU 2408. I can add busses and fx to each track, and it would be very easy to load at the beginning of the day. Now, I know I can do this, but it is not easy to set up any controllers or faders, or do many of the setup things one can do with mainstage that are pretty cool. It becomes a big concert with only one patch, a really big one. Is there a better way of doing things, maybe I should open up multiple instances of MS, each with 1 instrument, etc, BUT that would make the load of such a large number of instances a real pain, and then there are possible conflicts that would come up using many instances of MS. If you were in a situation like this, what would you do? George Leger III
  • Rounik Admin
    Re: Mainstage as Bidule?
    Hi George, I assume you want to simultaneously trigger these 12/13 instruments in MS2? Well, these should definitely be possible. I would create a new patch and in that patch create all the channel strips you'll need (the 5 x EXS24s, 2 x ES2s, etc). Set them all up as desired, now build the layout, assign screen controls etc. Should all work fine... Personally, I wouldn't run multiple instances of MS on one Mac... don't think it is possible (or easy at any rate) and what you want should be achievable using one instance of Mainstage2. Hope that helps Rounik
  • Xygupia