macProVideo.com
Forums
  • Dekuruy
    Mainstage as visual aid for teaching, and more......
    Hi all! This is not a question. My hope is that in sharing some of the ways that I've recently used mainstage, others may benefit. It's also one small way of thanking Rounik, and all at MPV for their hard work and excellent tutorials. I'm a special education teacher, teaching students with special needs. These students generally learn better when a multi-sensory approach is used. Music, of course, especially the act of playing music, can be multi-sensory, and Mainstage - as well as Logic - can provide excellent visual input for these students. Of course, I use Logic and Mainstage in standard ways, for live performance, routing different MIDI instruments and controllers into either program as students play these instruments live. Mainstage, being designed for this, of course, has been great. In the classroom, both Mainstage and Logic provide very clear, attractive visuals of what's going on musically. Mainstage, however, because of the ability to add pics and text to that beautiful but quiet black background, has really been a great boon to the students' learning. They can see pictures of themselves next to the instrument they are playing, labels of the instruments can be added with text, they can see the keys, knobs, sliders, pads, etc. move or light up as they play them - many students love this - and they can begin to understand a little bit about the way sounds can be modified by routing these various controls to various plugin parameters, all in this visually friendly environment. In performance, for my students' shows, a projection of the Mainstage interface can be shown on a projection screen, above or to the side of the stage, and while students are performing on MIDI keyboards and controllers, the audience can see much more of what each student is actually doing in real time by watching the shelf and panel controls colorfully light up and move as the students are