macProVideo.com
Forums
  • Mr Bean
    Posts: 9
    Joined: Aug 9th, 2007
    Re: Machine Routing/ Multi-Output Logic 9
    [url=http://www.macprovideo.com/forum/upload/upload/server/php/savedfiles/files/mpv_40891_20994_Screen_Shot_2012-12-13_at_9.37.12_AM.png] [img]http://www.macprovideo.com/forum/upload/upload/server/php/savedfiles/thumbnails/mpv_40891_20994_Screen_Shot_2012-12-13_at_9.37.12_AM.png[/img] [/url] Here's a snapshot of how I routed one group (a kit) from Maschine into Logic. At top level: On Maschine (with Maschine instantiated as 16 x stereo outs); set each pad to an out. The logic I use for drums is Kick, Snare, HH etc. In Logic; create (say) 8 Aux's from your Maschine track (you know...clicking the little '+'). Here you are bussing out your drums' audio from Maschine to an Aux. in Logic. (but you can't print it yet). When you hit play now, you should see your kicks and snares etc. going to their respective Aux., so it's a good time to name them accordingly. [b]Whoopee, you're half way to printing your audio![/b] Now, create 8 Audio tracks, name them, and set their respective inputs to the above busses. Do a level check, and then record your loops/patterns. In the image above, you can see that I then went on to put my favourite plug-ins on each respective Aux., and sent them all to a Drum Sub. (Bus 10) with a Limiter on it. WARNING: I'm an enthusiast, not a pro., so if some of terminology isn't right, I'm sorry. Logic gets confusing in the "Bus/Aux" terminology, but I don't think that's me being dumb, it seems to be a known grey area. Being honest, this is the first time I've used this workflow, but there doesn't appear to be any latency at all and the resultant audio is the same as on Maschine, and even better with the plug-ins activated. Hope this helped someone. It did me good to write it up anyway!
    Reply
  • Mr Bean
    Posts: 9
    Joined: Aug 9th, 2007
    Re: Machine Routing/ Multi-Output Logic 9
    Gave it a bit more thought and here's a different way of getting to the same result. It's probably a bit slicker: [url=http://www.macprovideo.com/forum/upload/upload/server/php/savedfiles/files/mpv_40893_20994_Screen_Shot_2012-12-13_at_11.06.55_AM.png] [img]http://www.macprovideo.com/forum/upload/upload/server/php/savedfiles/thumbnails/mpv_40893_20994_Screen_Shot_2012-12-13_at_11.06.55_AM.png[/img] [/url]
    Reply
  • GaryHiebner
    Posts: 1434
    Joined: May 6th, 2007
    Re: Machine Routing/ Multi-Output Logic 9
    Thanks for your post. Logic's routing system always allows for intricate routing. And with this way that you have routed the Maschine you can add different processing on the software instrument tracks, and the aux tracks.
    Reply
You must be logged in to post a reply
Subscribe to receive an email for each new post on this thread. Please login
Recent Threads
Recent Posts
Feedback
Course Advisor
Don't Know Where To Start?
Ask A Course Advisor
Ask Us!
Copy the link below and paste it into an email, forum, or Facebook to share this with your friends.
Make money when you share our links
Become a macProVideo.com Affiliate!
The current affiliate rate is: 50%
Classes Start Next Week!
Live 8-week Online Certification Classes for: