macProVideo.com
Forums
  • Bapuhao
    Posts: 39
    Joined: Apr 13th, 2013
    Totalmix with Babyface
    I have a mic connected to the babyface and it works. I have a guitar connected on the side of the babyface on the other channel and I don't get any level on the hardware inputs, software playback and the hardware outputs. MY guit is on the INST on the channel setting (hardware inputs). I have been on the RME support forums and zero solutions. So I was wondering if somebody would know about this problem. I am not a tech so I don't know all the engineering terms for recording. Yves Nadeau Thank you
    Reply
  • Rounik Admin
    Posts: 8713
    Joined: Dec 16th, 2006
    Re: Totalmix with Babyface
    Hi, Unfortunately, I don't have a Babyface to hand to test out... have you consulted the manual to check everything is setup correctly? Have you tried emailing support at RME? support@rme-audio.de They'll likely be able to help. Let us know how you get on. Best, R
    Reply
  • Bapuhao
    Posts: 39
    Joined: Apr 13th, 2013
    Re: Totalmix with Babyface
    The Manual is incomprehensible and it would be easier for me to learn mandarin. There is a lots of complaints about the guide. A technician did my set-up and I could call him again but it's gonna cost more money. I got into contact trough the RME support by a forum ( It's the only way with RME) and told me that I had to to go in the Talkwalk and take out channel 1/2 ( My talkwalk is at none) and told me to click on the wrench symbol so it has to be on INSTRUMENT): It is. So that's all I got and still and still have the problem. I wish this audio interface would be friendlier. I want to start recording but can't because I did a mistake by purchasing the Babyface.
    Reply
  • GaryHiebner
    Posts: 1434
    Joined: May 6th, 2007
    Re: Totalmix with Babyface
    I haven't worked with the RME Babyface either. But from what I've checked out it all should be setup through the TotalMix software like you already have. Is your guitar cable working? It might sound stupid, but its definitely worth a check. Plug the guitar into an amp with that same cable and make sure that everything is working.
    Reply
  • Bapuhao
    Posts: 39
    Joined: Apr 13th, 2013
    Re: Totalmix with Babyface
    I've already did ckeck cables and guitars. Everythings is fine to that point. Like I said my mic is working on Totalmix but not the guitar. I am OK with the complexity of the irem but the support or the manual guide is 0 value for a guy like me. I am stock with that audio interface. I might just go buy the Forte or the Apogge duet for less assles. Thank you
    Reply
  • Rounik Admin
    Posts: 8713
    Joined: Dec 16th, 2006
    Re: Totalmix with Babyface
    If I understood correctly, you tried contacting support via the RME forums? I found this email address... did you try contacting them through this email? support@rme-audio.de
    Reply
  • Bapuhao
    Posts: 39
    Joined: Apr 13th, 2013
    Re: Totalmix with Babyface
    Yes, I did communicate on the forum with M.Daniel Fuchs ( RME tech support/admin.) and I didn't get any solution that work from him. He told me to take out channel 1/2 in the Talkwalk but in the Input I have ( none) written and if I click on the ' input' I have: An 1,2, AS 1,2 and ADAT 3,4,5,6,7,8. The input was a 'none' when the tech did the set-up.
    Reply
  • GaryHiebner
    Posts: 1434
    Joined: May 6th, 2007
    Re: Totalmix with Babyface
    Has the instrument input ever worked on the audio interface? Maybe take the unit back to the supplier you got it from and get them to check the unit. That port on the interface could be faulty. You never know.
    Reply
  • Bapuhao
    Posts: 39
    Joined: Apr 13th, 2013
    Re: Totalmix with Babyface
    I don't think that the port is faulty. A technician will come to check it out on saturday. It's gonna cost me another 50$. Like I said the next time I will buy the Forte or apogee duet. Thank you anyway
    Reply
  • GaryHiebner
    Posts: 1434
    Joined: May 6th, 2007
    Re: Totalmix with Babyface
    I hope you get to the bottom of what is causing the issue. Let us know when you do.
    Reply
You must be logged in to post a reply
Subscribe to receive an email for each new post on this thread. Please login
Recent Threads
Recent Posts
Feedback
Course Advisor
Don't Know Where To Start?
Ask A Course Advisor
Ask Us!
Copy the link below and paste it into an email, forum, or Facebook to share this with your friends.
Make money when you share our links
Become a macProVideo.com Affiliate!
The current affiliate rate is: 50%
Classes Start Next Week!
Live 8-week Online Certification Classes for: