macProVideo.com
Forums
  • Bapuhao
    Posts: 39
    Joined: Apr 13th, 2013
    Start to demo - demo to master
    I am trying to do demo recording with Logic but didn't see much tutorials with home recording software with just a guitar & vocal. How to mix these instruments with Logic. So can I use the same approach in the tutorial from Demo to master for the mixing. What's the difference between a BUS and an INPUT? Should I create tracks mono or stereo because some studio ask for stereo Aiff. stereo before mastering. Thank you
    Reply
  • Rounik Admin
    Posts: 8713
    Joined: Dec 16th, 2006
    Re: Start to demo - demo to master
    Hi Iven, I'd highly recommend the Logic 101 course. Stick with it, even if you're not interested in synths and the like as many of the techniques taught in this course will enable you to not only understand Logic Pro much better, but also feel comfortable using the software to record, arrange and mix any style of music. I'd highly recommend the Demo to Master course as you can use the generic tips taught there in any DAW. In Logic an input corresponds to the input on your audio interface. So when recording audio into Logic you'd need to set up the audio channel strip with the correct audio input which you have your guitar or mic plugged into. A bus is commonly a channel strip type. In Logic 9's case, a bus can be thought of as a virtual connection. So for example, let's say you record 3 takes of your voice on separate tracks so you can process each for a chorus effect... rather than processing each vocal track with its own instance of a reverb plug-in... you can route all 3 tracks's outputs via a Bus into an Auxiliary channel strip and place one reverb plug-in on the Aux channel. The Bus, in Logic, is the internal connection where the audio signal travels through... again, you'll find out all about busses and Aux channels in the Logic 101 where you'll be able to see and hear how this works :) Best, R
    Reply
  • Rounik Admin
    Posts: 8713
    Joined: Dec 16th, 2006
    Re: Start to demo - demo to master
    [quote=mpv_user_235663 Iven] Should I create tracks mono or stereo because some studio ask for stereo Aiff. stereo before mastering. [/quote] If your source is mono (e.g. a guitar or a voice) then record it into Logic as mono... on occassion you may want to process these with stereo effects, but 99% of the time you'll want to record in as mono. The output in Logic is set to stereo by default, so no need to worry about not having a stereo file before mastering. Hope that helps R
    Reply
  • Bapuhao
    Posts: 39
    Joined: Apr 13th, 2013
    Re: Start to demo - demo to master
    Thank you very much fot the info. I have looked at almost all of the tutoriasl in Logic 101. I didn't see much about mixing with mics and instrument or how to settle everything on how make a quality demo or to suit it best before mastering. Anyway I will wach all over the tutorials.
    Reply
  • Rounik Admin
    Posts: 8713
    Joined: Dec 16th, 2006
    Re: Start to demo - demo to master
    No problem, if you're looking specifically at mixing, then the Pro Tools and Logic courses specifically on Mixing, e.g. Mixing Electronica in Logic are very useful. Don't be put off by the name and style, much of this info is applicable to many styles of music. Of course, if you're an acoustic singer/songwriter then I'd recommend the Pro Tools mixing courses and use similar techniques using Logic's plug-ins and features. Hope that helps R
    Reply
  • Bapuhao
    Posts: 39
    Joined: Apr 13th, 2013
    Re: Start to demo - demo to master
    Well I think so. If it is the way to make a demo with some sort of quality I will check it out with ProTools and Electronica on mixing. I guess that plain tracks ( no effects) to demo must be the same approach as demo to master. Thank you very much for that precious info.
    Reply
  • Bapuhao
    Posts: 39
    Joined: Apr 13th, 2013
    Re: Start to demo - demo to master
    Well I think so. If it is the way to make a demo with some sort of quality I will check it out with ProTools and Electronica on mixing. I guess that plain tracks ( no effects) to demo must be the same approach as demo to master. Thank you very much for that precious info.
    Reply
  • Bapuhao
    Posts: 39
    Joined: Apr 13th, 2013
    Re: Start to demo - demo to master
    I have search Electronica in the Application and couldn't find it. In which versions of ProTools I'll get into mixing. Thank you again.
    Reply
  • GaryHiebner
    Posts: 1434
    Joined: May 6th, 2007
    Re: Start to demo - demo to master
    Here's the Logic Mixing Electronica [url]http://www.macprovideo.com/tutorial/logic9404[/url]
    Reply
  • Bapuhao
    Posts: 39
    Joined: Apr 13th, 2013
    Re: Start to demo - demo to master
    That's great and thank you again.
    Reply
You must be logged in to post a reply
Subscribe to receive an email for each new post on this thread. Please login
Recent Threads
Recent Posts
Feedback
Course Advisor
Don't Know Where To Start?
Ask A Course Advisor
Ask Us!
Copy the link below and paste it into an email, forum, or Facebook to share this with your friends.
Make money when you share our links
Become a macProVideo.com Affiliate!
The current affiliate rate is: 50%
Classes Start Next Week!
Live 8-week Online Certification Classes for: