macProVideo.com
Forums
  • Student459430
    Posts: 5
    Joined: Apr 9th, 2020
    Recorded with the beat thing on in error
    I recorded an interview with the beat thing on in error. Is there a way to get that off the recording, and not losing the audio.
    Reply
  • Joe A
    Posts: 569
    Joined: Oct 1st, 2013
    Re: Recorded with the beat thing on in error
    If I'm understanding your post correctly, you recorded voice[s] and now you're hearing the Metronome Click (beat thing??) during playback..? If that's the case, two possible scenarios.. 1. The click is not actually recorded in the audio file recording along with the voice[s], it's just playing back—in that case you can just turn it off during playback via the purple Metronome button at the upper right. 2. The mic actually picked up the click and it's part of the recording (though I'm not sure how that could happen without you being aware of it while the recording was being made)—if that is the case, though, you'll see the little spikes for the click in the audio waveform display. That would be a tougher problem—two possible solutions: 2A. If the version of GB you're using lets you insert plug-ins, you could try inserting a Gate plug-in—with the right Threshold setting a Gate could eliminate the sound of recorded clicks *when the voice[s] are not speaking*. If the voice[s] drown out the clicks when they *are* speaking, then that might do the trick. But if the clicks are audible *at the same time as the voice[s]*, the Gate can't help with that 2B. If recorded clicks are audible at the same time as the voice[s], then you'd need some kind of Audio Repair software to try and eliminate them—some of the spectral editing modules in iZotope's RX7 might be able to do the trick, though it's big [$$$] complex program If you can clarify your situation in more detail, I can try to point you in the right direction for more information..
    Reply
  • Student459430
    Posts: 5
    Joined: Apr 9th, 2020
    Re: Recorded with the beat thing on in error
    No idea why it didn’t pick up thru the board. I’m using the rhodemaster pro. But I am guessing I left the thing on and didn’t notice it. You can hear the click over and over during my podcast. Trying to see if there is a way to get rid of it wo losing the recorded audio interview. Honestly thing I opened a new file and just left it on in error. I would be on with at least getting the ones out wo voice to make it better.
    Reply
  • Joe A
    Posts: 569
    Joined: Oct 1st, 2013
    Re: Recorded with the beat thing on in error
    So it sounds like you're saying that the clicks are recorded in the audiofile..? In that case, try the Noise Gate plug-in in GarageBand first—set the Threshold (start all the way down and gradually raise it) until it removes the clicks that are audible during the pauses between the voice[s] without affecting the voice[s] themselves. If the clicks under the voice[s] are not loud enough to be too distracting then that might be ok. If the clicks under the voice[s]s *are* too loud [they might be even more annoying if they come in & out with each phrase], then Audio repair is the only real choice.. But try the Noise Gate first and see if that turns out to be good enough..
    Reply
  • Student459430
    Posts: 5
    Joined: Apr 9th, 2020
    Re: Recorded with the beat thing on in error
    Appreciate it. Will let You know later on this afternoon if it works.
    Reply
  • Student459430
    Posts: 5
    Joined: Apr 9th, 2020
    Re: Recorded with the beat thing on in error
    Ok I’m on garage band found the noise gate how would I want to set it to work to try and remove.
    Reply
  • Student459430
    Posts: 5
    Joined: Apr 9th, 2020
    Re: Recorded with the beat thing on in error
    So I took it off and am re-saving it. I think it worked will let u know. I am so happy ty so much.
    Reply
  • Joe A
    Posts: 569
    Joined: Oct 1st, 2013
    Re: Recorded with the beat thing on in error
    You're welcome! :-) It sounds like you got the Gate working—great! The GB Gate is pretty stripped down, as you saw—you just raise the Threshold until it starts to cut out little bits of the voice[s], and then back off so it just gates out the in-between clicks. Just make sure you check the entire file for any unwanted effect on the voice[s] before finalizing. The alternative would have been to edit out the clicks between vocal phrases by hand, but that would have been a lot more labor-intensive.. ;-)
    Reply
You must be logged in to post a reply
Subscribe to receive an email for each new post on this thread. Please login
Recent Threads
Recent Posts
Feedback
Course Advisor
Don't Know Where To Start?
Ask A Course Advisor
Ask Us!
Copy the link below and paste it into an email, forum, or Facebook to share this with your friends.
Make money when you share our links
Become a macProVideo.com Affiliate!
The current affiliate rate is: 50%
Classes Start Next Week!
Live 8-week Online Certification Classes for: