macProVideo.com
Forums
  • Dekuruy
    Educators Unite-Shared Ideas for Mac Apps. in the Classroom
    (This post has been moved from the 'Logic Pro & Logic Express' Forums and has been modified to serve more appropriately as an opening thread in this forum). I recently started to use Logic Pro as a tool for educating, inspiring, and motivating my students in the classroom and for live performances. In this thread, I'd love to exchange ideas, techniques, etc. with anyone who uses any of the Mac Apps. for creative use in the classroom. I am a music teacher, so my interests mainly lie with Logic and GarageBand. But Mac Apps. - iLife, Final Cut, Photoshop, etc. - have so much to offer in this area, and I'm sure that a lot can be learned by anyone who teaches and uses any sort of technology in the classroom. This is the direction that education is going in, with digital and computer technology becoming more and more a part of every aspect of our lives. Until I started using Logic with some of my students about four months ago, I didn't think it would have as much to offer educationally as I now realize it does. Here is a general overview of what I've started to do using Logic with my students: The first thing I must mention is that I work with special ed./learning disabled students. So, a lot of what I've used Logic for so far is designed to make it easier for the students to make music. Like using a Roland SPD 6 (electronic drum pads) to trigger midi notes channeled into a chord memorizer in the environment, so that the striking of the pads triggers some motown - like horn stabs. Or adjusting velocity so that a students keyboard playing comes out more evenly. I did a show just before Thanksgiving where I was able to use Logic to receive midi data from a few different controllers sending live data into Logic on different midi channels simultaneously (thanks to the auto-demix by channel checkbox). Some of the controllers were keyboards split into zones via channel strip