macProVideo.com
Forums
  • mikey52
    Sampling Rate
    Hey guys, So I'm sure this is a common question but here is the scenario. I know the higher the sampling rate the better the quality of audio, but if it is going to eventually be bounced at 44.100khz for a cd, is it still worth working at a higher sampling rate. I'm a producer in Hollywood working with pop/rock production and I would love your feedback. Thanks, M
  • Christian L
    Re: Sampling Rate
    IMHO, there is no point in recording your audio at 48 kHz if the end format is going to be 44.1 kHz. You will not gain any sound benefit and you will lose time reconverting to 44.1 kHz. However, I always recommend to record at 24 bits and then dithering the final song to 16 bits. This will increase the dynamic range and give you more headroom. Of course, that is my personal opinion, and some may disagree...
  • DrewDesign007
    I'd like to know more about this topic - why not just stay at 44.1 kHz?
  • Mixerman