macProVideo.com
Forums
  • Tenogyi
    Posts: 63
    Joined: May 31st, 2007, 01:26
    Switching from 7.2 to 8
    I am trying to decide about making the move to Logic 8. Any thoughts out there? Thanks.
    Reply
  • JJ
    Posts: 20
    Joined: Dec 9th, 2006, 09:35
    Re: Switching from 7.2 to 8
    Hi SG Just some thought, keep in mind if you are using Plugins, 3rd party software like (waves) the plugins are not all supported yet! But you can load it on a 2nd hard drive and use it some in the meantime and boot back and forth, this way you still have 7.2 as your main till the 3rd parties catch up with 8. JJ
    Reply
  • Rounik Admin
    Posts: 8713
    Joined: Dec 16th, 2006, 08:13
    Re: Switching from 7.2 to 8
    Hi Actually, although i'd always recommend having a back up of your system on an external HD you don't NEED to have one for logic 7.2 and one for logic 8. Even though some third-party plug-ins are not compatible with L8 yet, Logic 7 & 8 can co-exist quite peacefully on the same partition. Logic 8 does not over write 7.2. The only things i would back up in particular are your templates, channel strips and the logic plug-in settings. Cheers Rounik
    Reply
  • Illogical Instrumentor
    Posts: 17
    Joined: Oct 6th, 2007, 09:40
    Re: Switching from 7.2 to 8
    I take it you are looking for reasons to switch or not to switch? I say switch. 8 is superior to 7.2 in ALL respects in my opinion. It is more intuitive, has much better UI, is more fun and sounds better. I cannot think of one thing I miss from 7.3 which was my previous system. The price is better and the upgrading price is a joke. Seriously just take the plunge you will not regret it. All the good things are still there, most of the bad things have been removed or made better. Just getting rid of the XS key is almost worth the money alone. Add to that the fact that you get Mainstage, Soundtrack Pro and Compressor thrown in for free, oh yeah and all the garageband jampacks... it is a steal.... really .....
    Reply
  • Rounik Admin
    Posts: 8713
    Joined: Dec 16th, 2006, 08:13
    Re: Switching from 7.2 to 8
    I almost agree with Illogical Instrumentor.... One thing i really miss from Logic 7.2.3 is the ability to open any editing window as a floating window. Now you only have this option with the environment. But the single window interface is kind of addictive... Also, the colour contrast for my eyes was easier in Logic 7 unless i turn off the transposrt bar in L8. Apart from that Logic 8 is simply fantastic so far - i'm sure apple will make it even better in the future too! Rounik
    Reply
  • Illogical Instrumentor
    Posts: 17
    Joined: Oct 6th, 2007, 09:40
    Re: Switching from 7.2 to 8
    Ehm... Rounik, have you actually tried the floating windows?? Go ahead give them a spin....... You might be in for a happy surprise. I suggest holding down command and then hitting the numbers 1 through nine in succession. Cheers
    Reply
  • Rounik Admin
    Posts: 8713
    Joined: Dec 16th, 2006, 08:13
    Re: Switching from 7.2 to 8
    Hi Illogical, yu got me very excited there for a second.... those are no floating windows - those are normal windows. A floating window is a window that floats on top (like a plug-in window) and always stays on top even when you select a different window... if that's not clear, try opening the environment (command - 8) and then go to the local view menu and select "frameless floating window". Also, you can get the Event float up (option - E) Play around with them - very cool. Now imagine the possibility of having the mixer/arrange/piano roll as a floating window and what it could do for screensets.....and your workflow! I hope apple bring back the ability to do this. it's just a little touch i really appreciated in L7. Cheers Rounik
    Reply
  • Christian L
    Posts: 1416
    Joined: Aug 7th, 2006, 11:50
    Re: Switching from 7.2 to 8
    [quote:7638] I hope apple bring back the ability to do this. it's just a little touch i really appreciated in L7. Cheers Rounik [/quote] Yeah, me too I kinda miss those cool floating windows. At least we can still do it with the environment window... But all the other goodies makes up for it :-)
    Reply
  • Illogical Instrumentor
    Posts: 17
    Joined: Oct 6th, 2007, 09:40
    Re: Switching from 7.2 to 8
    Sorry Rounik. My bad, I didnt read into the "floating" thing. Myself Im so happy about the new interface and docked windows with the uncluttering that came with it, I havent even thought about them being floating or not. Mind you, I never used the command-1-9s (except command-8) myself. I have been using the docked for everything. Working on a 15" makes floating windows very redundant in my setup. But yeah I can see where they could come in handy. Its not a complicated thing to have as an option, Apple might implement this as an option later. Cheers!
    Reply
  • Rounik Admin
    Posts: 8713
    Joined: Dec 16th, 2006, 08:13
    Re: Switching from 7.2 to 8
    yeah - i have to admit i've gone from being a command - 1-9 kinda guy to an occasional command and slight single window junkie! I also Hope apple give us back floating windows - you might find that on a 15" it works wonders if you use screensets a lot IMHO. Anyway, the short is that Logic 8 is great with or without floating windows! I'm pleased we all agree! Cheers guys Rounik
    Reply
You must be logged in to post a reply
Subscribe to receive an email for each new post on this thread. Please login
Recent Threads
Recent Posts
Feedback
Course Advisor
Don't Know Where To Start?
Ask A Course Advisor
Ask Us!
Copy the link below and paste it into an email, forum, or Facebook to share this with your friends.
Make money when you share our links
Become a macProVideo.com Affiliate!
The current affiliate rate is: 50%
Classes Start Next Week!
Live 8-week Online Certification Classes for: