macProVideo.com
Forums
  • jazzgitman
    Newbie to Midi and Logic. Need Major Help Please
    Hey Everyon, This is Kevin Curtis from Dallas Texas. I have some questions for you and hopefully you can give me some insite. We are importing Midi tracks into logic format. What happens is that it assigns different instruments to the tracks. I am very very new to Midi but know enough to be very very dangerous. Ha Ha. It was my understanding that there is general Midi which assigns certain instruments to certain midi channels. When you put in a midi track it should play the tracks thru general Midi and then you can tweek from there. Well it's not doing it. In fact sometimes some of the tracks are literally shut off but you can see there is data there. What I am trying to accomplish is to have these midi tracks to play along with. Having the score helps me to learn the melody quicker and then I want to go out and perform them. I went to guitar center and purchased a prgram called bandstand that will set up the tracks in said order. It's a way to get me started as I have a ton of gigs coming up at the end of November and December. Is there something that I need to turn on to get logic to recognize general Midi ? Is there a way to set up set lists or would it be better to record it, make them MP3's and put them in I-tunes? This is how I run my general show now with my sets in my I-pod. Any help that you could give me would be much appreciated as I am totally at a loss. Also I am using internal sounds but I do have a roland JV1080 expanded and a DR880 drum machine if you feel this would be a better way of going. Looking forward to your reply. Kevin Curtis
  • Christian L
    Re: Newbie to Midi and Logic. Need Major Help Please