macProVideo.com
Forums
  • scottygolfer77
    Posts: 14
    Joined: Jul 20th, 2008, 10:00
    DVD SP4 not FCP6
    SLOWWWWWWWW! Help! My DVDSP4 project is VERY slow. I am wondering if my settings are off or what??? I have 3gb or RAM so I don't think that is the problem. Every menu I try and access takes FOREVER. Rendering is a joke...I originally posted this as a FCP problem, then realized it was DVDSP4. Any ideas?
    Reply
  • Rounik Admin
    Posts: 8713
    Joined: Dec 16th, 2006, 08:13
    Re: DVD SP4 not FCP6
    Hi scottygolfer77, I've deleted your thread in the FCP forum so as not to confuse people... You need to give us more details on your set up so we can help you. The more info you give the better (mac model, Core2Duo? Processor speed, etc.... What is in your DVD SP project and how big is it? Have you tried repairing permissions or doing any maintenance? How much free space is on your HD? Are you running your project from an external HD? Have you found your DVDSP projects much faster in the past, or is this the first time you've been using DVDSP on your mac? Cheers Rounik p.s. I'm not suggesting this is the issue, but it's recommended to have matched pairs of ram for better performance (e.g. 2, 4, 6, 8 et GB of ram).
    Reply
  • scottygolfer77
    Posts: 14
    Joined: Jul 20th, 2008, 10:00
    Re: DVD SP4 not FCP6
    Hi Rounik, I've deleted your thread in the FCP forum so as not to confuse people... [b]Well, I am an idiot b/c this morning I realized that it was FCP and not DVDSP that was running so rediculously slow. Sorry.[/b] You need to give us more details on your set up so we can help you. The more info you give the better (mac model, Core2Duo? Processor speed, etc.... [b]2.4 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo: 3GB RAM 667 MHz DDR2 SDRAM: Version 10.5.4. Rounik, I was going to send you a picture here too, but I didn't understand the message that popped up when I tried to add an image. "You must host image yourself" [/b] What is in your DVD SP project and how big is it? [b]30 minutes worth...6GB or so, but I would like to add more later when I get this problem resolved[/b] Have you tried repairing permissions or doing any maintenance? [b]Not sure what permissions are...I am a new Mac user [/b] How much free space is on your HD? [b]Capacity is 300GB Available is 41GB[/b] Are you running your project from an external HD? [b]yes[/b] Have you found your DVDSP projects much faster in the past, or is this the first time you've been using DVDSP on your mac? [b]I am new to this, but this is the first time I have encountered this type of issue[/b] [b]I get very confused on how to even set up my settings so that everything is compatible. You can probably tell by some of my answers that I am a novice so I thank you in advance for your patience.[/b]
    Reply
  • Rounik Admin
    Posts: 8713
    Joined: Dec 16th, 2006, 08:13
    Re: DVD SP4 not FCP6
    No problem! OK. Let's start with repair permissions: Close all applications and... 1. Go to: Applications/Utility/Disk Utility 2. Select your MAc HD and click "Repair permissions" 3. Leave the mac until finished and when finished restart your mac. Is it still very slow? If so, can you tell us what size video you are using? Also, there is an option in FCP to render all clips. That should speed things up. Video can take some time to render by the way... Have you seen the FCP tutorial? [url]http://www.macprovideo.com/tutorial/finalcut6101[/url] It's very very good and might help you to get through and understand FCP and video better than I can explain here :-) By the way, to upload a picture you need to host it on another picture site like: [url]http://imageshack.us/[/url] then click on the uploaded picture on imageshack and select the DIRECT link and copy it (Cmnd-C). Come back to here and in your post select "Add Link" in the pop up window paste the address of the picture (Cmnd-V). Let us know how you get on. Cheers Rounik
    Reply
  • scottygolfer77
    Posts: 14
    Joined: Jul 20th, 2008, 10:00
    Re: DVD SP4 not FCP6
    Okay Rounik, I am going to try and load a pic. [url]http://img507.imageshack.us/content.php?page=done&l=img507/4917/fcpinterfacemd5.jpg[/url]
    Reply
  • Rounik Admin
    Posts: 8713
    Joined: Dec 16th, 2006, 08:13
    Re: DVD SP4 not FCP6
    thanks. To display the pic here copy the URL (address) of the imageshack pic and then click on "Add image" below the post box. Paste the address and it'll appear like this: [img]http://img507.imageshack.us/img507/4917/fcpinterfacemd5.jpg[/img] OK. So you're working with standard DV. Try out some of the other suggestions in my previous post & get back to us. Cheers Rounik P.S. What kind of external disk are you using? Is the connection Firewire or USB....
    Reply
You must be logged in to post a reply
Recent Threads
Recent Posts
Feedback
Course Advisor
Don't Know Where To Start?
Ask A Course Advisor
Ask Us!
Copy the link below and paste it into an email, forum, or Facebook to share this with your friends.
Make money when you share our links
Become a macProVideo.com Affiliate!
The current affiliate rate is: 50%
Classes Start Next Week!
Live 8-week Online Certification Classes for: