macProVideo.com
Forums
  • Tulu
    Posts: 65
    Joined: Feb 10th, 2007, 09:35
    While import into FCP from Motion movies changes in Canvas windo
    I am new in Motion. After finishing work in Motion when I import my clip into FCP, it adds black border in right and left side in the canvas window. Can you guys help me please? Thanks Tulu
    Reply
  • Rounik Admin
    Posts: 8713
    Joined: Dec 16th, 2006, 08:13
    Re: While import into FCP from Motion movies changes in Canvas w
    Hi Tulu, You need to set up the same Motion and FCP otherwise a border will be added by FCP when importing video to make sure it won't be stretched or squashed. Cheers Rounik
    Reply
  • Tulu
    Posts: 65
    Joined: Feb 10th, 2007, 09:35
    Re: While import into FCP from Motion movies changes in Canvas w
    Dear Rounik Could you please give me the step by step instructions to set up the same for FCP and Motion. Thanks Tulu
    Reply
  • Rounik Admin
    Posts: 8713
    Joined: Dec 16th, 2006, 08:13
    Re: While import into FCP from Motion movies changes in Canvas w
    Hi Tulu what is the Motion canvas size? You can set up the project properties in Motion. Choose: Edit > Project properties There you find settings for frame size and aspect ratio. what is the format, and aspect ratio of the video? Then in FCP set up the canvas size to match. Cheers Rounik
    Reply
  • Tulu
    Posts: 65
    Joined: Feb 10th, 2007, 09:35
    Re: While import into FCP from Motion movies changes in Canvas w
    Video is NTSC and Aspect Ratio is 16:9. Can you tell how to see canvas size in FCP and Motion? Resolution is 720 X 480. I tried what you said but does not work. Waiting for your response. Thanks Tuu
    Reply
  • Rounik Admin
    Posts: 8713
    Joined: Dec 16th, 2006, 08:13
    Re: While import into FCP from Motion movies changes in Canvas w
    What version of Motion are you running? In Motion 2.1.2 go to Edit > Project Properties [General] and remember the settings. In FCP 5.1 (and probably later) go to Final Cut Pro > Audio/Video Settings [Summary] Choose the relevant sequence setup from Sequence Preset. I think that would be DV NTSC 48 Khz. Cheers Rounik
    Reply
  • Tulu
    Posts: 65
    Joined: Feb 10th, 2007, 09:35
    Re: While import into FCP from Motion movies changes in Canvas w
    Dear Rounik My Motion version is Motion 2.1.2. I did what you said. In FCP sequence setup was DV NTSC 48 Khz. In motion in project properties: preset is NTSC DV width and height is 720 X 480 bit depth 8 bit Pixel Aspect Ratio is NTSC D1/DV Frame Rate is 29.97 Duration 300 Waiting for your response Thanks Tulu
    Reply
  • Rounik Admin
    Posts: 8713
    Joined: Dec 16th, 2006, 08:13
    Re: While import into FCP from Motion movies changes in Canvas w
    Hi Tulu, Did you follow the steps in my previous post?
    Reply
  • Tulu
    Posts: 65
    Joined: Feb 10th, 2007, 09:35
    Re: While import into FCP from Motion movies changes in Canvas w
    Yes Rounik Thanks Tulu
    Reply
  • Rounik Admin
    Posts: 8713
    Joined: Dec 16th, 2006, 08:13
    Re: While import into FCP from Motion movies changes in Canvas w
    ok.... so what is happening / not working? Also, please can you tell me all the steps you are doing and what the source video size is please. Thanks Rounik
    Reply
You must be logged in to post a reply
Recent Threads
Recent Posts
Feedback
Course Advisor
Don't Know Where To Start?
Ask A Course Advisor
Ask Us!
Copy the link below and paste it into an email, forum, or Facebook to share this with your friends.
Make money when you share our links
Become a macProVideo.com Affiliate!
The current affiliate rate is: 50%
Classes Start Next Week!
Live 8-week Online Certification Classes for: