macProVideo.com
Forums
  • Bal
    Jumps between cuts
    I am completely new to Final Cut (my first day learning) I am experiencing jumps between cuts. I put together few clips and all was good... I have no idea what I did - after applying smoothcam to one of my clip, there are short jumps between all my cuts. Please help anyone.
  • Rounik Admin
    Re: Jumps between cuts
    Hi Bal, What do you mean by jumps between cuts? Do you mean you wish to have transitions in between the cuts (cross dissolve etc)? Do you mean that because of the smooth cam function and the frame being reduced in size that this causes some kind of jump between clips? Are your clips different camera shots or the same footage that you've split in FC? Thanks Rounik
  • Bal
    I just realized that I was not very specific. Sorry. All my clips come from the same camera. I am not looking for transitions. I have 7 clips. I was able to play them and all was normal. After I added smoothcam, the playback stops for a moment before each clip (which I called a jump) and I don't know what to do in order to fix it. Even if I undo the soomthcam, FC still doesn't play my sequence without stopping for a moment few frames before playing the next clip. Thank you for helping.
  • Rounik Admin
    Hi Bal, OK. A few more questions... 1. Is there a red bar above the clips in the timeline? 2. What playback settings do you have? 3. Does this happen if you create a new sequence and copy the clips into that sequence? 4. Does FC stop (playhead) or is there a gap between clips (so you see a black screen in the Canvas window during playback)? 5. Which version of FC are you using? 6. What are the clip properties and sequence settings? If you need guidance on where to find out the above info or how to follow a procedure let me know. :) Rounik
  • Bal