macProVideo.com
Forums
  • droliff
    Posts: 2
    Joined: Feb 13th, 2010, 06:05
    import/export codecs/settings for FCE with HMC40 footage?
    Hi all, I am pretty new to video editing in FCE, and brand new to 'tapeless workflow' (just bought a Panasonic HMC40) so am not sure of all the technical protocol yet. What is AVCHD as opposed to DV or HDV? What is meant by 'transcoded'? For the following series of questions, my final usage will be for the web, flash video (.flv file as converted in Adobe Media Converter from the quicktime file exported from FCE, unless there is a method to export directly to a flash video file from FCE i.e. what is the FLC format?) streaming from my server and played with a flash player (.swf file) Obviously, I would like to achieve the best quality possible while still maintaining a fast streaming time here is an example of the above: [url]http://dennisroliff.com/multimedia/oasis/[/url] I see that if I go to menu-->final cut express-->easy setup I get a window with default import settings as in figure 1 below [img]http://dennisroliff.com/samples/web/fce/setup.jpg[/img] figure 1 Which import format is best for footage from the HMC40, shooting at 108024p? 108030p? see figure 2 below [img]http://dennisroliff.com/samples/web/fce/import_format.jpg[/img] figure 2 Which import frame rate is best for footage from the HMC40, shooting at 108024p? 108030p? see figure 3 below (don't understand the odd frame rate choices of 25 and 29.97) [img]http://dennisroliff.com/samples/web/fce/import_framerate.jpg[/img] figure 3 The default import codec is DV-NTSC as seen in the popup menu in figure 4 below [img]http://dennisroliff.com/samples/web/fce/codec.jpg[/img] figure 4 which of the above import codecs would you recommend for footage from the HMC40 if I am shooting in 108024p? 108030p? I am using the 'log and import' option for importing footage directly into projects from the SDHC card. Does the check box option under the 'import settings' tab mean that audio/video will be compressed with the import codec specified during 'import setup'? see figure 5 below [img]http://dennisroliff.com/samples/web/fce/import.jpg[/img] figure 5 When exporting from FCE with quicktime conversion, is it best to use the same type of codec as the import codec? see fig 6 below [img]http://dennisroliff.com/samples/web/fce/export.jpg[/img] figure 6 Thanks very much for any advice. Much appreciated. Best, Dennis [url]http://dennisroliff.com/folio[/url]
    Reply
  • Rounik Admin
    Posts: 8713
    Joined: Dec 16th, 2006, 08:13
    Re: import/export codecs/settings...
    Hi droliff Welcome to the forums! Wow! Quite a lot of questions. There are some good tutorials here that you may find useful: A/V fundamentals is free: [url]http://www.macprovideo.com/tutorial/avfundamentals101[/url] The Final Cut tutorials on capturing is really good too as is the FC7 101 tutorial. If you're importing 1080i footage then you need to choose the HD format. AVCHD is a highly compressed HD format. Traditionally TV footage in the US is in a format called NTSC (29.97 frames). PAL, used in UK and other parts of Europe and Middle East, is 25 frames per second. Film is normally 24 fps. Choose the relevant settings according to your geographical location. Because FCE/FCP does not natively import 24p you could use the 1080i60 setting when importing footage. As for exporting... well that depends on the size, compression, quality and final delivery of your finished film. Exporting to Quicktime is a good idea - but you'll need to take some time to learn about the different codecs to make best use of any video editing software. Hope that helps Rounik
    Reply
  • droliff
    Posts: 2
    Joined: Feb 13th, 2010, 06:05
    Re: import/export codecs/settings...
    Hi Rounik, Thanks so much for the info and link to tutorials. I probably overdid it on the questions, not good forum etiquette I suppose. Anyway, your info will help greatly. One more quick question if you don't mind. I've heard and read a lot about shooting and editing in 24fps to get that 'film' look. That is what I want. Does the fact that FCE doesn't import 24fps mean that I won't be able to get that 'film look'? Thanks. Dennis [url]http://dennisroliff.com/folio[/url]
    Reply
  • Rounik Admin
    Posts: 8713
    Joined: Dec 16th, 2006, 08:13
    Re: import/export codecs/settings...
    Hi Dennis, No problem at all! I understand what's it like beginning to work with video... there are many many questions :) It's a good question about FCE and 24p. I'm not very familiar with FCE... To import your 24p footage into FCE you will be editing it as 60i. However, this does not have the best quality. For example fast motions may look blurry. If you want to work in 24p to achieve the 'film' look then I'd recommend upgrading to FCP7. You'll get Motion, Sound Track Pro and other goodies as part of Final Cut Studio. Hope that helps, Rounik
    Reply
You must be logged in to post a reply
Recent Threads
Recent Posts
Feedback
Course Advisor
Don't Know Where To Start?
Ask A Course Advisor
Ask Us!
Copy the link below and paste it into an email, forum, or Facebook to share this with your friends.
Make money when you share our links
Become a macProVideo.com Affiliate!
The current affiliate rate is: 50%
Classes Start Next Week!
Live 8-week Online Certification Classes for: