macProVideo.com
Forums
  • shadebug
    Transparent Text
    Hi guys, this is my first time so sorry if I'm doing something wrong. I'm learning to use FCPX at the moment and I'm working on a project which is a recreation of the Angel TV show's title sequence. I think I've got most of the effects and everything down except the way the text works. In that sequence the text itself is actually the background video, as if a stencil had cut out the top layer of video to reveal what's underneath. I can see the stencil cut that allows me to do that, but I can only work out how to get it to do that on a black background showing the video underneath, so is there a way for me to get it to do that to layered video? I do have Motion as well so if it has to go that way round then that's not a problem. Thanks
  • Rounik Admin
    Re: Transparent Text
    Hi shadebug, Welcome to the MPV forums! This is a good question. Do you have a link to the Angel TV titles? This might be a good topic for us to cover on The Hub. :) Rounik
  • shadebug
    http://www.dailymotion.com/video/x5dc56_angel-season-5-opening_shortfilms I actually finished the project without managing to implement this so I'm still intrigued. I ended up making a generator in Motion made of a drop zone with a mask to do the background, but I never worked out how to get the text to be included in it, certainly least not in a way I could edit (I just ended up colour matching the text). Lots of people suggested masking the clip instead of the background, but that would've been a hassle since there's normally a few clips per background
  • Rounik Admin