macProVideo.com
Forums
  • not-an-editor
    T2i and 7D: HD vs SD capture in Final Cut Express timeline
    Hello All, I'm not a professional editor but I thought it'd be a good idea to pretend otherwise while working on a project of mine. I'm not sure if I missed some sort of crucial step along the way, but maybe someone here can help me. We had a 2-camera shoot using a T2i and a 7D. I imported the clips into Final Cut Express, dragged them into my timeline, edited them, and now I'm trying to export an uncompressed version of the movie but it appears as though the footage I've been editing in the timeline has been compressed -- it's not as sharp-looking as the rough clips, and although the exported file is 1920 x 1080, it's grainy and pixelated. Is there something I'm missing here, and is there an easy-ish fix? Thanks.
  • BenB
    Re: T2i and 7D: HD vs SD capture in Final Cut Express timeline
    1st, those cameras record H.264 which are not officially supported as editing formats by FCE. Long-GOP formats also fall apart with transcodes and such very quickly. You need to use Log & Transfer with the Canon plugin to convert them to ProRes LT for editing. The camera records compressed H.264, so why are you trying to export uncompressed? It doesn't add anything to your video quality, and eats up more drive space. You want to import, edit, and export ProRes LT, which will not lose any image quality at all.
  • not-an-editor