macProVideo.com
Forums
  • steven
    Posts: 30
    Joined: Feb 17th, 2013, 03:04
    Re: editing in 1080p without converting to optimized o...
    also just found out that my brother works in 720p I've duplicated my latest project and set it to 720p in stead of 1080p I've notice more 'smooth-ness', very acceptable to work with my movies are ment to burn on dvd and upload to vimeo and stuff, so maybe I just have to switch to lower project resolution I'm certianly gonna test with original (H264) clips in a 720 project
    Reply
  • BenB
    Posts: 501
    Joined: Feb 14th, 2011, 04:27
    Re: editing in 1080p without converting to optimized o...
    OK, you can't measure resolution in GBs. It doesn't work like that. This technology is a huge gray area, it isn't black and white like that. Many factors come in to play. H.264 of Long-GOP, and ProRes is Intra. Apples to Onions. Don't look at file size to base resolution on. Go to the Project Library, highlight your project, go to the Inspector, Properties, at the bottom right is a button with a wrench icon. That brings up your Project Properties. Putting 1080 clips into a 720 project doesn't in any way decrease the amount your CPU and GPU have to work to reproduce those frames. It is still the same amount of data, PLUS the extra work of scaling them down to 720 for real time playback. Keep your project the same frame rate and frame size of the original clips. That will give you best performance. If you shoot 720, edit 720, you'll see not much difference, but on some systems, you could, over native 1080. Also, don't have too high of an expectation of what that rMBP will do. Its not the speed of the drives that is the final determining factor, although they play a part. It is the speed and power of your CPU, and very importantly the GPU in your computer. That is fixed, and what you have is what you have. And even though the H.264 files are small, they take infinity more CPU and GPU power to play back, due to the way each fame must read 8-12 other frames at the same time to un-compressed, be reconstructed, and flashed on your screen. Your rMBP is the most powerful "laptop" Mac around, but not the most powerful Mac, and not the most powerful editing machine. You'll get what you get out of it, and you will easily push its limits. But for what you'll get, it is a really great editing machine. Also, what about backup? What happens when (not if) your LaCie or system drives crash? Do you have backup drives?
    Reply
  • steven
    Posts: 30
    Joined: Feb 17th, 2013, 03:04
    Re: editing in 1080p without converting to optimized o...
    so it's normal that these files take that much space. if I want to work with optimized media of 1 ski trip... I need 1 to 1,5TB free space. we are with a few guys with helmet cams... and if you think that I work mostly on a few projects at a time (they overlap in time) the project is set to the right properties, no worries there it's true what you say about my 720 test but for some reason it feels much smoother. I also found that strange. I'm thinking of setting the action cams to 720 in stead of 1080. gives me also the advantage that I can film in 60fr/sec correct about the GPU. but there was no better available on a MBP. this is more important than I thought. olso about backup, no worries here, I'm a freak about that everything in our house is backuped on a huge time capsule (the ios stuff goes via itunes to there) every 2 moths I make a huge copy of that time machine to another disc and that disc is stored not at our home. you never know... fire, theft... the lacie workspace for editing, I backup to another (slow) big external disc. over night, every time I've done a long day of work with fcpx. this other disc also get backupped to the big disc that is not located in our home. when I make huge changes to a project, I first make a copy in fcpx of that project, to go back in time. fot the moment I can do 2 things -buy nothing extra and work with proxy files. the amount of data wil keep normal proportions. and I'm able to take my work everywhere because of the sise of the lacie little big disc. also backup will go easy with these amounts of data I keep in mind that this will give a bit quality loss when finalizing my project (from the original compressed footage), but if you think about the conditions and material where I film with, it will be fine for me -or I buy a huge fast disc. for example a lacie 5big. the 10TB version is the same price of the SSD lacie that I have now... but that is not easily transported anymore... I think I gonna stay (for the moment) with option 1 learned a lot from you, thanks! (note; the mac pro is not available anymore in Europe, some issue with the EU guidelines)
    Reply
  • BenB
    Posts: 501
    Joined: Feb 14th, 2011, 04:27
    Re: editing in 1080p without converting to optimized o...
    I think there's something wrong with your math. It takes tons and tons of footage to fill up a full TB of drive space. I've edited feature length documentaries on 1TB drives. Also, in the Project Properties, you can set the Render files to ProRes LT, which will save you drive space when rendering. LT will hold the image quality of H.264 very easily.
    Reply
  • steven
    Posts: 30
    Joined: Feb 17th, 2013, 03:04
    Re: editing in 1080p without converting to optimized o...
    no it's correct when I convert 10GB of H264 footage, I get approx 100GB of optimized. = 110GB (of course I can delete than the 10GB of original H264) when I convert 10GB of H264 footage, Iget approx 10GB of proxy = 20GB the action cam footage is really compressed a lot one week skiing gives 100GB H264. the problem with those action cams is that you have al lot of pretty long clips where you can use almost nothing from. most clips are a few minutes long, we use only a couple of seconds from each clip. the prores LT tip is very usefull that will reduce my projects disc space usage
    Reply
  • steven
    Posts: 30
    Joined: Feb 17th, 2013, 03:04
    Re: editing in 1080p without converting to optimized o...
    BenB! I found it! I'ts soooo simple that we did not see it... suddenly my newest project worked super smooth, after my tests I was forgotten to set 'use proxy' back on. wtf? now my H264 works fine??? first of all, my question again; why run my old projects without any framedropping, and my new have a lot of issues. I begin each project with just finding the right part of clips and give them the right order. at that stage there is no render involved. just cutting, trimming and so on. BUT, later on I begin adding effects, color grading, add texts and so on. if background render is on, each part gets rendered in the prores format that is selected in the project properties. and all the clips that are rendered also playback in the rendered prores format! because I add effects and certainly color grading to each clip, the whole timeline gets rendered (in pieces, in the background), and the whole project gets of course played in a nice prores format... AND, thats why my test in the 720 project worked so smooth. FCPX renders every clip that has another size than the project size... something like this will be the solution for me. If I set the project size set to another than my footage is, every piece of clip gets rendered in apple prores format and plays/skims/works smooth. I think you will not like this method, but it works for me. like this I can force FCPX to just transform my used media into prores... The reason that I keep my cams in 1080 is because I want to cut out some stuff like goggles that are in picture and so on (so I can crop a lot). so if I film in 1080 and make my projects in 720, that will work fine. I don't mind the background rendering, it works pretty fast on my mbp... In any case, thanks for all the help!!!!!!!!!!! now I understand how FCPX thinks, and I can fool it a bit. now I can just let FCPX convert what I need, and save a looooooot of space.... greeetz steven
    Reply
  • BenB
    Posts: 501
    Joined: Feb 14th, 2011, 04:27
    Re: editing in 1080p without converting to optimized o...
    That is another way to work, also. Background rendering on the larger projects I'm used to working with bogs things down. But if it works for you, do it. There is no right or wrong way, only the way that works for you.
    Reply
You must be logged in to post a reply
Recent Threads
Recent Posts
Feedback
Course Advisor
Don't Know Where To Start?
Ask A Course Advisor
Ask Us!
Copy the link below and paste it into an email, forum, or Facebook to share this with your friends.
Make money when you share our links
Become a macProVideo.com Affiliate!
The current affiliate rate is: 50%
Classes Start Next Week!
Live 8-week Online Certification Classes for: