macProVideo.com
Forums
  • cpilgrim
    Exporting with iMovie '11 makes it pixelated
    Hi Everyone! I am new to iMovie. I had to make a video for a technical writing class on how to set up a green screen. Well I figured out how to do the image overlay and edited our video and it looks great in iMovie. We used a Sony HDR camera. I set it to 24fps when I created our video because the image overlay wouldn't work with 25 or 30. (I really hope that's not the problem cause I don't have time to re-do my movie). So the problem is that when I try to export the movie into any file format it becomes pixelated when people move or at random times. I"m not sure why!? I have tried exporting it as different formats and still no luck. Even my professor doesn't know how to fix it, but he wants it to be perfect. Does anyone have any ideas? Thanks so much!
  • BenB
    Re: Exporting with iMovie '11 makes it pixelated
    What frame rate was the original video shot in? Make sure your iMovie project is the same frame rate. How exactly are you exporting it? Specifically what Sony cam are you using? I assume you meant HDV, not HDR.
  • cpilgrim
    It was in 24 fps I'm pretty sure. The thing is it wouldn't let me overlay an image in anything but 24 but I'm 98% sure it was 24 fps. The camera is a Sony HDR-CX700V handycam. I've tried exporting to movie in 1080p, exporting with QuickTime using .mov, .mp4 (which is what my professor told me would work at the beginning), I've tried .avi with best quality and with the NTSC setting on .avi. All of it gives the same result. .avi helps a little bit, but not enough. He suggested exporting as a .flv but that's not an option.
  • BenB