macProVideo.com
Forums
  • Stringman66
    HD camcorder into iMovie
    I'm new to the HD camcorder world. I got a good deal today on a JVC GZ-E10 and was told it was mac compatible. I'm able to record video on the SD card and upload to imovie 09 no problem. My question is: Is there a way to record directly from my camera into iMovie onto my hard drive without the SD card? I bought the HD camera to get a better picture over the iSight camera and in order to shoot several hours of high quality video I will need a 32 GB SDHC card or higher. With my old Canon mini DV camcorder via firewire into my Dell I was able to record directly onto my computer's hard drive so I find it frustrating that I cannot do this with my new setup. Or can I? I'm shooting music instructional videos sitting in front of my laptop. If there is a HD camcorder that can do exactly what I need I will return this one. Any help appreciated, thanks.
  • BenB
    Re: HD camcorder into iMovie
    I looked up that camera, and yours doesn't have Firewire, as far as I am able to discern. Y 'd need one with a Firewire connector. Apple's video software is pretty Firewire specific. If you have Firwire output from your camera, and it's a broadcast standard based signal, iMovie should see it.
  • Stringman66
    I was wondering about firewire vs. USB so thank you for your reply. I'm still not clear on what would be a broadcast standard based signal even after googling it, but I assume mpeg2 which this camera has, is not that. It seems like Canon and I believe Panasonic may be more geared toward macs.
  • BenB
    USB is simply not fast enough. You need to look at NTSC-DV, DVCPRO, DVCPRO-HD and ProRes would be standard codecs to look at.
You must be logged in to post a reply
Recent Threads
Recent Posts
Feedback
Course Advisor
Don't Know Where To Start?
Ask A Course Advisor
Ask Us!
Copy the link below and paste it into an email, forum, or Facebook to share this with your friends.