macProVideo.com
Forums
  • silly_lashes
    Motion
    I can't seem to find a tutorial on how to have something like "fire" (particle emitters) follow the stroke as a signature is being written? I have gone into Particle emitters_ Pyro_Paint Stroke Tool and make a signature with the record button but I have only done this through bumping and feeling my way through. If someone can walk me through step by step I would really appreciate it. I need this for a project in FCPX ASAP and I am brand new in Motion 5. Thank you!
  • BenB
    Re: Motion
    That's something you'll need to experiment with. But off the top of my head: Draw your shape (as text or whatever). Add in your Particle Emitter (I'm using the Pyro > Flame Line). In the Emitter, change "Shape" to "Geometry". Drag and drop your shape layer into the "Shape Source" well of the Emitter. Turn off the visibility of your original shape. The tricky part is getting it to "Write On". I see that behavior applied to the shape doesn't effect the Emitter. I'll have to think about this one. BTW, what specific library emitter are you using from the Pyro collection, yourself?
  • silly_lashes
    I wish I can answer your question so that you can help me better. Like I said, I am brand spankin' new to the program- all I remember is flying over to another island for FCPx/Motion5 training and this trainer at Apple being so awesome that they referred to him as "Budda" (Scott)- He demo'd this and it actually is what I need for my project. I will go back and look at my notes from that session to see if I can add anything to spark something for you that might help you, assist me...Thank you very much for answering and for working on this for me.
  • silly_lashes